#MissKrisApproved: The Seychelles Sandal

Miss Kris SeyshellesThe biggest fashion debate of the Summer has got to be the return of the Birkenstock style sandal. Every site from the Man Repeller to Refinery 29 has made a statement about the them. Even the editors at Vogue have joined the convo calling the trend “Pretty Ugly” …pretty ugly, you see what they did there?! OH NO!!!! Not the return of the ‘stock?!?!? This is all taking me back to 7th grade when my Mom REFUSED to purchase a pair for me. A few months earlier I’d just conned her into getting me a new pair of Cole Haan loafers so as far as she was concerned… my feet were already covered! You know how it is when you want something so bad, but don’t have the means to get this!? All of a sudden they’d become the ugliest shoes ever created and I wasn’t sure why anyone would wear them. Oh the shade!!

All those old feeling came back when I saw them featured in the pages of Vogue this year and obviously I was hesitant to accept their return until I came upon these leopard beauties from Seychelles. Hmmmm they don’t look like the ones I remember from Middle School being leopard and all?!? I’m intrigued. I don’t have anything like this in my closet so I just had to give them a try. Needless to say they have become my new go-to casual Summer sandal. As Jenna Lyons states, leopard is a neutral and I’ve been wearing these with everything.

What do you guys think of the return of this trend? Do you remember with the ‘stocks were popular many years ago or am I dating myself here?!? Share in the comment section below. And if you’re interested click here to purchase these cuties. They’re on sale and available in different colors including metallic!

13 responses

  1. I love these!

    July 23, 2014 at 9:12 am

  2. LornaMi

    I wore ‘stocks for 2 recent trips to Europe with many walking tours and they did not fail me in comfort. I have them again for my next trip. Cute with selected outfits, ghastly with some things, but far more stylish than most of those Frankenstein-foot white athletic shoes I saw on other Americans.

    July 23, 2014 at 9:15 am

    • blahahahahahahah “Frankenstein-foot white athletic shoes” …I can picture them now!!!! Hope you had a blast on your travels.

      July 23, 2014 at 9:18 am

  3. I saw this exact pair in a boutique and couldn’t decide whether I was going to be “that girl still wearing Birks”. I decided to pass and am still losing sleep over it đŸ™‚

    July 23, 2014 at 9:56 am

  4. I love it! But, then again, I never stopped wearing Birks. I bought the adorable silver, then black pair of Sam and Libby’s from Target, and have blessed my feet all summer long!

    July 23, 2014 at 10:02 am

  5. sinabartels

    Love the leopard print!
    http://www.home-sweet-fashion.com

    July 23, 2014 at 10:24 am

  6. Gorgeous!!!!
    x Vox Modae

    July 23, 2014 at 10:36 am

  7. Linda

    Can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear…they are still UGLY!

    July 23, 2014 at 10:55 am

    • lol hmmmmmm I’d never heard that saying. I just might have to start using it!

      July 23, 2014 at 11:30 am

  8. So cute!

    July 23, 2014 at 11:47 am

  9. i love this trend! free the feet from heels and really comfy :))))
    xx nic
    lifevsstyle.com

    July 26, 2014 at 9:03 am

  10. I’m glad they’re back! They’re practical and comfortable and just grungy enough to be cool.

    July 28, 2014 at 10:56 am

  11. Love these xXx

    August 11, 2014 at 9:35 am

Leave a comment