Postcards from Palm Springs: Colony Palms Hotel

Miss Kris and the Colony Palms HotelI love a getaway. When the Colony Palms Hotel invited me to stay at their property, I was all to eager to pack my bags and head to Palm Springs. Palm Springs is about a quick 2 hour drive from my home in Los Angeles. I often retreat to there when I’m in need of a little break the city and some quality… vintage shopping. PS has some of the best vintage shopping around! I’d actually never stayed overnight at the Colony Palms Hotel before, but I’d been to the property many times to sip cocktails by their lavish pool. I was excited to get the full guest experience at this historic hotel.

The Colony Palms Hotel has been around for years. It originally opened it’s doors in 1936 and was owned by a reputed mobster and member of The Purple Gang (<- I know The Purple Gang was a group of dangerous mobsters, but I imagine them to be very fashionable and color coordinated). Many guest were attracted to the hotel’s sunshine, refreshing pool and yummy cuisine but the hotel also served as a secret speakeasy and brothel for the owner, his fellow gang members and gambling buddies. Over the years, the hotel has played host to a number of Hollywood’s elite including Sinatra.  As you can imagine I thrilled to pay the hotel a visit and live in those old Hollywood memories if only for an evening.

If you’re making a trip to Palm Springs in the future might I suggest an overnight visit to the Colony Palms Hotel. You’ll have a wonderful time! Click here for more info about the hotel.

Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 1Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 2

shirt | shorts | bag embellished studs are a Miss Kris DIY (here) | sunnies

Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 3Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 4sunnies | dress | sandals

Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 5The newly renovated Purple Palm. I could eat here for the rest of my life!

Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 6Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 7Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 8Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 9Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 10

Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 11sunnies | necklace

Miss Kris and The Colony Palms 12White dress my Monif C. (available here in orange)

Photography by Sylvia G.

Images 6, 10 and 11 via the Colony Palms Hotel

and don’t forget to watch the video…

11 responses

  1. Ann

    Could you look any more glamorous, honey? Fabulous! So glad you had a nice time.

    July 31, 2014 at 10:45 am

  2. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Much love

    July 31, 2014 at 10:52 am

  3. GORGEOUS! But, looks like unaffordable for many, me included! 🙂

    July 31, 2014 at 11:25 am

    • It’s def a luxury hotel, but you can find some GREAT deals if you search online. I’ve seen them before. My tips are if you can go during PS off season (the middle of Summer when it’s HOT). It’ll be a thousand degrees, but they have a pool so you’ll be fine. And if you can go on like a Monday. Stay away from the weekends as the rates are cheaper. This might make a good post. Ohhhh maybe I’ll write up my tips for living luxurious on a dime?!?!?! Thanks for the inspiration! xoxo

      July 31, 2014 at 11:39 am

      • That would be great! BTW, you looked fabulous, as always!

        July 31, 2014 at 12:00 pm

  4. Your dresses are gorgeous.. they flatter you so so much! Love your style and great pictures!

    Love, Wink n Pout
    Blog , App

    July 31, 2014 at 2:19 pm

  5. Um, gorgeous photos! I love all of your dresses too!

    August 1, 2014 at 5:20 pm

  6. Loving your dress and beautiful place! 🙂
    look at my blog at follow it if you like http://christinaviola.com

    August 2, 2014 at 1:48 am

  7. nergizd

    love this post! 🙂 your photos are great

    https://nergizd.wordpress.com/

    August 2, 2014 at 6:17 am

  8. I love that you’re totally wearing that frill sleeve midi dress, it isn’t wearing you. Way to show it who’s boss.

    August 6, 2014 at 12:01 pm

  9. This hotel is so great I could live there! So great photos and glad you had a great time!

    August 9, 2014 at 3:22 am

Leave a comment