Road Trippin’: Tips From My Dad On Travel Safety

Miss Kris Road Trip Travel Palm Springs CaliforniaThe countdown clock to the last days of Summer has begun. NO SUMMER, NOOOOO! DON’T LEAVE US! I know as sad as it might be, there’s still time to sneak in a little Summer vacation. Short on time and cash? Consider a capping of the Summer with a mini road trip. A local trip is the best way to get in that vacation without all the extensive planning. I recently hit the road for a much needed trip to Palm Springs (watch the video here) and the drive was good for my soul.

Although I’m now in my 30’s I’m totally a Daddy’s girl and my Dad still gives me the business about road trip safety whenever I mention to him I’m driving out of town. I’ve been hearing these tips for YEARS, basically since I started driving, but his tips are handy and I thought I’d share them for those of you embarking on an upcoming trip. From my Dad to you:

1. Car Maintenance: Be sure your car is in good condition before you leave. Has had it’s oil change, are the brakes are good, is there air in the tires and do you have a full tank of gas?

2. Plan Your Route: Even though some cars have GPS systems, look at a map beforehand so you know exactly which highways you’ll be taking. Don’t travel at night in case you run into any car troubles. Let people know where you’re going, the route you’re taking and your estimated time of departure and arrival.

3. Be Prepared: So many things unexpected things can happen on the road and you should be prepared. Be sure you’re well rested before driving. Know the weather conditions so you can prepare yourself for a change in surface conditions. Be sure that your phone is fully charged and that you have all proper phone chargers with you. Carry at least $100 cash on you during your trip should you find yourself in a situation where a credit card is not accepted.

4. Stay Alert: While driving, watch the road for debris left in the street that could damage your car. Don’t rely on technology to pin point you. Be aware of your surroundings. Have your AAA card or road side assistance number handy should you run into any car trouble. Slow down when you’re driving over a hill because there’s usually a Cop waiting on the other side to give you a ticket.

5. Be safe, have fun and take lots of pictures.

 

7 responses

  1. That’s so sweet! I love Dad advice, it never sees you wrong. xx

    August 5, 2014 at 1:31 pm

  2. Those are some great tips! I really press keeping at least that much in cash. Saves you so much in banking & ATM fees!

    August 5, 2014 at 7:26 pm

  3. Oh, is this ever near and dear to me! I’m in AZ this week on a mini vacation/visit with my daughter. I’m soon to be 55, and MY dad put me on the Greyhound saying I couldn’t drive alone! LOL He went over all those road safety tips your dad did, then asked me what would I do if I broke down in the desert? Sigh. I’ll be a Daddy’s girl forever!

    August 6, 2014 at 8:56 am

  4. What a great dad and wonderful advice!

    August 6, 2014 at 10:48 am

  5. Very sweet! Good practical advice…

    August 6, 2014 at 9:39 pm

  6. cute outfit!!

    August 7, 2014 at 12:08 pm

  7. your style is so beautiful !

    https://lifeeofgirls.wordpress.com

    August 11, 2014 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

