DIY: Embellished Neckline

Happy New Year! I hope you all enjoyed the Holidays. I took a two week hiatus and enjoyed every second of it. I retreated to my parents house in Texas with the goal of doing absolutely nothing. Mission accomplished! I slept in, ate everything within a 2 mile radius of my mouth. It was wonderful and didn’t put on make up for two weeks! Most importantly I spent quality time with my family. I watched football with my Dad, taught my godson how to ride a bike and I went shopping with my Mom. Shopping is my Mom’s idea of quality time. I had to laugh at how much my Mom’s style has rubbed off on me over the years. She takes glitz and glam to the extreme. Everything she owns is embellished with stones, metallic or just plane fancy. This post was inspired and dedicated to my Moms…

Materials: Statement Necklace, Plyers, Fabric Glue, Needle and Thread

Use the plyers to remove the findings from the necklace. I purchased this necklace from Charlotte Russe for less than $10.

Place the necklace where you would like it to lay on your neckline and apply the fabric glue to secure it.

Hand tack the ends of the necklace to the dress for added security

Now you might be thinking, “Why doesn’t she just wear that necklace when she wears that dress?” Sometimes the necklaces just do lay the way I want them to on the neckline of my dresses. When you embellish the neckline it sits there perfectly.

I paired this newly embellished dress with a pair of cowboy boots (too much time in Texas) and a classic Dooney and Bourke bag. While helping my Mom clean out her closet (by helping I mean going through and taking clothes I wanted) I came across her collection of Dooney’s! Did you guys own a Dooney back in the day? Clearly my Mom collected them like trading cards, but I’m thankful for that. This year I’ll be adding a few of the D&B classics to my wardrobe!

Long live Dooney and Bourke!

9 responses

  1. Vanita

    Nice to hear you have a great holiday break. Love the tutorial!

    A blog for the jewelry-obsessed.
    http://www.houseofavandan.blogspot.com

    January 4, 2012 at 9:52 am

  2. Love this! Gives me an idea for one of my vintage necklaces! Lovely!

    January 4, 2012 at 11:43 am

  3. too cute! such a good idea!

    January 4, 2012 at 11:55 am

  4. Great DIY idea, good way to spice up an old sweater.

    January 4, 2012 at 1:30 pm

  5. Love the classic Dooneys … before they got weird like some are now.

    January 4, 2012 at 2:25 pm

  6. Jenny

    I totally need to do this! I have a bunch of super cute vintage rhinestone necklaces that just do not lay right. Great idea!

    January 4, 2012 at 4:36 pm

  7. chiclittleblackdress

    So cute! Defly adds some sparkle to your LBD!

    January 4, 2012 at 7:37 pm

  8. chiclittleblackdress

    how did you add the pinterest inspiration board to your site?

    January 4, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  9. Taylor T

    Very cute

    January 5, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Leave a comment