DIY: As American As Cherry Pie Statement Necklace

How does the saying go… It’s as American as cherry pie? Or is it apple? Regardless if it’s a pie I’m eating it. Add a little ice cream to it and I’m truly a happy camper! My favorite pie is actually an apple crisp a la mode, but I digress. The name of this blog is Glitter ‘N Glue not Kristen Talks About Pies. Moving on…

With the 4th of July around the corner, Americans are taking this weekend to gather with friends and family and celebrate our country’s birthday! Many will be having  parties full of pool diving, glittery fireworks, loads of food and yes, pies… it’s an American tradition!  Although not an American designer, last year Moschino invited the cherries to their Spring 2010 collection party and incorporated them into fabulous printed dressed and decadent statement jewelry.

The Moschino cherry necklace was the inspiration for this project

Materials: Fake Cherries, Chain, Ribbon, Wire Cutters

I found these fab, faux cherries at a floral supply store in Downtown LA

Slide the stem of the cherry through one of the chain links. Fold the stem over the link and wrap the stem, cutting off any access stem. Repeat this step a trillion times or until you have enough cherries on your necklace

Tie a ribbon to the end of the chain to create a bow as your closure

14 responses

  1. Absolutely adorable – I like it better than the necklace you used for inspiration.

    June 30, 2011 at 11:46 am

  2. this is awesome! i love the look of it. very creative. def gonna try something like this.

    http://classyhipinspiredcultured.wordpress.com/

    June 30, 2011 at 11:54 am

  3. just finished watching ur vainglorious video where ur wearing this necklace & admiring it. now i have to make it.

    June 30, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  4. That is absolutely adorable! What a great idea!

    tigertem.com

    June 30, 2011 at 2:39 pm

  5. GREAT idea! I may re-blog it and link to your site here. My blog is The Lifestyles of the Authentic & Creative http://www.lota-n-c.blogspot.com

    June 30, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  6. XTina

    Oh I love this! And I think it’s as American as Sweet Potato pie, right? 🙂

    July 1, 2011 at 12:48 pm

  7. Ok..you are too freakin’ talented!! I love it!!!

    July 1, 2011 at 1:39 pm

  8. So stinkin’ cute! Can you please sell these so I don’t have to make one? 😉

    July 1, 2011 at 2:40 pm

  9. Amazinggggg! Omg. I’m an instant fan! 😉

    July 2, 2011 at 1:06 pm

  10. Pingback: ttF DIY: Cherry Shoe Clips – Think Thru Fashion- Smart Styling for Today

  11. I got small cherries ,I could not find big ones 🙂

    July 28, 2011 at 7:12 pm

  12. Ty so much. I Loved making this ,and a matching bracelet
    http://glowacademy10.blogspot.com/2011/07/cherries-delight.html

    July 29, 2011 at 2:40 pm

  13. New subscriber here. Totally adorable DIY! So fun-loving. 🙂

    September 4, 2011 at 9:01 am

  14. ellaedge

    So sweet-I love it! Thanks for sharing 😀

    April 7, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Leave a comment