THE WALKING DEAD: My Mummy Costume + JCPenney GIVEAWAY

Miss Kris JCPenney Halloween DIYSo I have to admit that I’m sort of a minimalist when it comes to Halloween costumes. I don’t get all dressed up and I don’t really go all out. Last year I was an “Instaglam” selfie (here) and the year before I was a glizty skeleton (here). But this year when JCPenney‘s approached me about creating a costume out of a pair of sheets I knew I had to accept the challenge.

A flat sheet is like a precut, pre-sewn yard or two of fabric. Did I want to be Celopatra? Or maybe I wanted to be a Greek Goddess? Nope! I wanted to be a mummy! I was obsessed with Jessica Simpsons Mommy Mummy costume from a few years ago and I wanted to try my hand at creating my own version.

Miss Kris JCPenney  Halloween Costume DIY 1Keeping with the minimalist theme of Miss Kris Halloween Costumes, the only materials you’ll need for this project are an old flat sheet and a pair of scissors. You may also need a few safety pins just to help keep your costume in place.

Miss Kris JCPenney  Halloween Costume DIY 3First, create your cloth strips by laying your sheet flat and create a few slits in the end of your sheet about 4 inches apart.

Miss Kris JCPenney  Halloween Costume DIY 2Use your hands to tear your sheet at the slits. It’s just that easy! Using your hands to tear the sheets helps create frayed edges.

DIY TIP: If your sheets are bright white, soak your strips in a tea bath to give them that aged look. To creat your tea bath, simple add a few tea bags to a gallon or two of water. Drop in your cloth strips and let them soak for 10 – 20 mins. Remove them from the bath, ring our the extra tea and allow them time to dry.

Miss Kris JCPenney  Halloween Costume DIY 4Now it’s time to start wrapping. This is really a two person job so ask a buddy or your boo to help! Start by tying a knot around a limb (leg, arm or waist) to anchor. Then start wrapping!

Miss Kris JCPenney  Halloween Costume DIY 5 Knot the two cloth strips together as you continue to wrap your body so that they’re all connected. There’s really no “correct” way to wrap. It’s really up to your creative genius.

Miss Kris JCPenney  Halloween Costume DIY 6After Sylvia (my photog friend + buddy) spent precious time wrapping my legs, I decided that my mummy need to be in a dress… obviously! To create the dress we simply cut off the strips that were wrapped around my legs and pinned them to my Spanx. Ahhh the ingenuity!

Much love to my neighbor who said I looked like I just had a full body and face lift. lol Oh the things people think when you live in Hollywood.

Miss Kris JCPenney  Halloween Costume DIY 7

and now for the best part…

IT’S GIVEAWAY TIME!!!!!!

JCPenney has been a great partner for this project. You guys already know that I love to make a trip to the store to thumb through the clothing racks, but while I’m there I also make sure I spot by their home department. They have fabulous collection with designers link Jonathan Adler and Liz Clairborne. Today they’re giving away a coverlet and a sheet set  from Royal Velvet. YEA!!!! I’m so excited about this giveaway because let em tell y’all these sheet are yummy. I have a pair myself and I just adore them. The only downside is that it makes getting out of bed in time for work almost impossible. Entering is easy…

Simply leave a comment below completing the following statement:

Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a __________ costume for Halloween.

Leave that comment  finishing that statement and you’re entered! The contest ends Friday October 24th at 7pm pst when one lucky winner will be chosen at random to receive the bedding collection.

And the winner is…

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 9.19.48 AM

Thanks to all who entered!

Good luck and Happy Halloween!

Miss Kris JCP

Miss Kris JCP 2Photos by Sylvia G

Post Sponsored by JCPenney

41 responses

  1. Jenni Smith

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a fly Olivia Pope designer costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 7:39 am

  2. Stacey Jones

    To make a nice princess Halloween costume!

    October 21, 2014 at 7:45 am

  3. Doris

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a ghost costume for Halloween

    October 21, 2014 at 7:51 am

  4. Marian Perez

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Jedi costume for Halloween!

    October 21, 2014 at 7:56 am

  5. Marie

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Ghost Busters costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 8:01 am

  6. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Greek Goddess costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 8:03 am

  7. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a toga costume or a poodle skirt like on Greese for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 8:37 am

  8. Fiona Odumosu

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to make a toga costume for Halloween!

    October 21, 2014 at 8:55 am

  9. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Cleopatra costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 9:16 am

  10. Damie

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Hypatia costume for Halloween!

    October 21, 2014 at 9:34 am

  11. SOOOOOO cute!!!
    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Goddess costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 9:58 am

  12. This is perfect! I was already planning to be a Mummy for Halloween this year as I am 7 months pregnant!!! So a mummy madre is perfect. I love the dress option you showed- very cute! Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a MUMMY costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 10:22 am

  13. sanja

    Thanks JC Penny, I’d use a flat sheet to create a roman goddess dress for halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 10:30 am

  14. Flor

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Jasmine from Aladdin costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 10:35 am

  15. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a chic marilyn monroe (dressing blowing in the street) costume for Halloween!

    October 21, 2014 at 11:16 am

  16. Great contest, and if I were to dress for Halloween using a sheet, it might be to make a Toga but since that is too obvious, I would use it as intended, dressed as a freshly made bed with throw pillow attached to my head – lol!

    October 21, 2014 at 11:20 am

  17. Audrey

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a ghostly red riding hood costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 11:52 am

  18. laurpud

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create an angel costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 12:00 pm

  19. Saniel

    Cool zombie

    October 21, 2014 at 12:44 pm

  20. Tina Renee

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Statue of Liberty costume for Halloween!.

    October 21, 2014 at 2:42 pm

  21. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Pineapple costume for Halloween!

    October 21, 2014 at 3:57 pm

  22. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a pineapple costume.

    October 21, 2014 at 3:59 pm

  23. Nancy Gordon

    Thanks J C Penney! I’d use a flat sheet to make a Marilyn Monroe costume.

    October 21, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  24. Thanks, Kris! I’d use a flat sheet to make a Little Red Riding Hood costume

    October 21, 2014 at 5:38 pm

  25. Leah

    Thanks jcp! I would use a flat sheet to create a fashion week ghost!

    October 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

  26. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Paint Canvas costume for Halloween.

    October 21, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    • Congrats! You Won! I’ll email you shortly with details on how to claim your prize!!!

      October 27, 2014 at 9:21 am

  27. Chastiti Penchion

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a Cake pop costume for Halloween. 🎂🍡

    October 21, 2014 at 7:16 pm

  28. Thanks JCP! I used a flat sheet to create a lawn gnome costume for Halloween!

    October 21, 2014 at 8:09 pm

  29. MelodyJ

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a _flapper Dress costume for Halloween.

    October 22, 2014 at 12:59 am

  30. Alicia

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a sumo wrestler costume for Halloween

    October 22, 2014 at 6:18 am

  31. cute costume!

    October 22, 2014 at 5:15 pm

  32. Austin Baroudi

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a ghost costume for Halloween!!!

    October 23, 2014 at 8:00 am

  33. Taisha

    THANKS JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a nurse costume for Halloween.

    October 23, 2014 at 4:51 pm

  34. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a ghost bride costume for Halloween.

    October 24, 2014 at 4:39 am

  35. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a ghost costume for Halloween!

    October 24, 2014 at 8:31 am

  36. Desiree

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create a corpse bride costume for Halloween.

    October 24, 2014 at 8:39 am

  37. Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create an Angel costume for Halloween.

    October 24, 2014 at 8:58 am

  38. D

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create an albino jack-o-lantern costume for Halloween.

    October 24, 2014 at 9:03 am

  39. MAC

    Thanks JCP! I’d use a flat sheet to create the Poncho Cape of my Super Queen Bey costume for Halloween.

    October 24, 2014 at 11:59 am

  40. You’re so cute! Thanks for a great costume idea. Personally, I’m loving your insta-glam selfie idea. Super simple and fun!

    October 27, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Leave a Reply

