Jeweled: Tips For Shopping Vintage Jewlery

Miss Kris House Of Fisher Tips For Shopping Vintage Jewerly How To 1I think we all know by now that I have an obsession for shiny things. Glitter, confetti and of course diamonds all make my heart skip a beat. I’ve been a connoisseur of fine costume jewelry ever since 1986 when my Grandma let me play with her collection. Nothing excites me more than waking up early on the, grabbing a cup of coffee and heading to one of my many, many favorite spots in search of jeweled glamour. Luckily, The House Of Fisher is in my neighborhood and within waling distance (although I often drive).

People always ask my how I find such good stuff. There really is a method to my madness. I’m always prepared for a hunt! I shop flea markets, thrift stores, estate and garage sales, consignment shops and antique malls. Go often! Since I really only focus on jewels it’s helps me keep my eye on the prize and not get distracted by all the sequin clothes. I do my research! I always have a fully charged iPhone with me so that I can search dates, designers and suggested retail prices on pieces that I find. I keep an eye out for logos and identifying marks and I’m sure to carefully examine all pieces carefully before I purchase. And my last piece of advice is to make friends! I always chat up the store owners and jewelry dealers. They’re so knowledgable and once they know your face and your taste they keep an eye out for pieces you might like.

Miss Kris tips for buying vintage jewerly

Miss Kris House Of Fisher Tips For Shopping Vintage Jewerly How To 2

Miss Kris House Of Fisher Tips For Shopping Vintage Jewerly How To 3

Miss Kris House Of Fisher Tips For Shopping Vintage Jewerly How To 4Lacroix, Chanel, YSL and Dior!

Miss Kris House Of Fisher Tips For Shopping Vintage Jewerly How To 5I’m obsessed with these Christian Lacroix  stunners and try them on every time I’m in the store. I think I’m going to have to add them to my birthday wish list (hint, hint.. that’s August 1st, y’all)!!

If you’re every in the LA area make time to visit the House of Fisher Boutique on Doheny in West Hollywood. It’s a quaint little boutique, but trust me it’s worth the stop.

Skirt by Express |Top by H&M | Jewelry Vintage available at House of Fisher

Photos by Sylvia Gunde

17 responses

  1. Sharon

    Ok. So I know the article is about jewelry, but I love, love, love the outfit. The skirt is just the right length for me. (Most skirts of that style are a bit short). Was it custom made or where can I find it???

    May 20, 2014 at 9:53 am

    • I always forget to mention what I’m wearing. Adding that now!!! It’s from Express. Currently in the stores. It’s so fab and cost about $70.

      May 20, 2014 at 9:55 am

  2. BooksBySontia

    I absolutely love her dress! Great tips !

    May 20, 2014 at 10:09 am

  3. MRG

    I did my fair share of vintage jewellery buying in Paris, I just couldn’t resist some of the pieces (very much like those Lacroix) are too beautiful!
    xo Marez
    http://cantcooksowhat.com

    May 20, 2014 at 12:13 pm

  4. I love this post! I love that, without saying it directly, you get at the idea of quality in vintage shopping. I see so many vintage lovers and thrifters buying anything with a great price tag and focusing less on quality. Your aesthetic is FIERCE, and you have your shopping-savvy mind to thank for that. Thanks for your tips!

    May 20, 2014 at 12:40 pm

  5. Looking gorgeous!
    -Alex of http://snippetswithalex.com

    May 20, 2014 at 12:57 pm

  6. Van Pham

    Thanks for the tips! I used to pick up jewelry randomly, and then end up with a bunch of them that I’m not sure how to pair with outfits. Now I’m just scared of buying more and wasting my money:) Will follow your blog for more jewelry and accessory inspiration!
    Van from Fashion for Petites

    May 20, 2014 at 7:17 pm

  7. i love this outift. You look very nice, so ladylike and beautifull ❤

    May 21, 2014 at 12:30 am

  8. waoo, thanx for sharing !

    May 21, 2014 at 12:47 am

  9. I’m impressed. At 68 I’m not nearly so organized. And you look terrific in the jewelry.

    May 21, 2014 at 4:01 am

  10. Pingback: Top Money Saving Links on the Web for Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle | Looking Fly on a Dime

  11. ♡♡♡ vintage jewels! I love finding precious rings.

    http://periwinkleblu.wordpress.com/

    May 23, 2014 at 10:43 am

  12. tribw

    love your jewellery!

    May 28, 2014 at 4:12 am

  13. this is a vintage dream! xo staci

    May 30, 2014 at 7:31 am

  14. LOVE the soft pink paired with the balck skirt! It looks so effortlessly elegant when toped off with all your jewels!

    June 2, 2014 at 12:33 pm

  15. the vintage jewelry is super cuteeeeee!!!!! i wanna have them all!!!!!!

    June 22, 2014 at 10:38 am

  16. You look amazing! I love the entire outfit. Great advice on getting to know the store owners/jewelry dealers!
    http://norulejuststyle.wordpress.com/

    July 10, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Leave a Reply

