Fringed: DIY Fringe Skirt

Miss Kris Fringe Skirt DIYFringed!!!! This project is actually a throwback… will the internets allow for a #ThrowbackTuesday?!? Anywho, three years ago when Beyonce told us who was running the world (girls!) I was inspired to create my own version of the mini fringe skirt she wore in the video (here). Well that was three years ago and to be honest “mini fringe” doesn’t work for me anymore. I’m really crushing on fringe and wanted to recreate this skirt for my Summer wardrobe in a more age appropriate length. Fringe skirts for the grown and sexy, y’all!

Obviously I would recommend wearing a skirt underneath when you’re wearing this fabulous lady out in public, but you know I had to give y’all the full effect for these photos.

Miss Kris Fringe Skirt DIY 2

Miss Kris Fringe Skirt DIY 3Miss Kris Fringe Skirt DIY 4Materials: A belt, fringe and a glue gun

Miss Kris Fringe Skirt DIY 5Use your glue gun apply a healthy amount of glue to the inside of your belt. Apply a layer of fringe to the glue and let it dry. Once it’s dry, apply more glue and another layer of fringe for a fuller skirt.

Miss Kris Fringe Skirt DIY 6Miss Kris Fringe Skirt DIY 7Shoes by Aldo

Photos by Sylvia Gunde

NOTE: If you’re having a difficult time locating long fringe, try calling my local fabric store directly. International Silk + Woolens (323)653-6453. Ask for Nabilla or anyone in the notions department. They’ll ship it directly to you if you live in the USA. I purchased 2 years of the 24 inch black fringe to complete this project. Enjoy! xo

29 responses

  1. Omg it looks absolutely amazing on you.

    May 13, 2014 at 1:59 am

  2. thebrowngirlcubby

    I love this!! You look so amazing !!! Can I have those curves please!

    May 13, 2014 at 9:39 am

  3. I love it! I can’t wait to try it out once I find the right materials ๐Ÿ™‚

    May 14, 2014 at 6:30 am

    • YES!!!! It’s all about finding the right fringe. Your local craft/ fabric store should have it. Good luck!

      May 19, 2014 at 11:26 am

  4. workkkkk!

    May 14, 2014 at 6:49 am

  5. Econaturista

    Great idea!!!

    May 14, 2014 at 8:21 am

  6. You are looking fiiierce. Beyonce better run. Thanks for the tutorial – definitely trying this. I love that it’s a little Beyonce & a little Gatsby all at once!

    May 14, 2014 at 9:29 am

    • Two of my favorites, Bey and Jay …Gatsby that is!

      May 19, 2014 at 11:27 am

  7. Great DIY and you Rockk!!

    May 14, 2014 at 10:24 pm

  8. Awesome! Go from me thanks!

    May 15, 2014 at 7:35 am

  9. Wooww!It’s really awesome! Your ifea is very interesting and original,I like it!
    P.S. You look great!

    May 19, 2014 at 11:49 am

  10. You look fabulous! I will definitely make this skirt ASAP

    May 21, 2014 at 9:27 am

  11. Reblogged this on P.H.A.T GIRL FRESH and commented:
    I am trying this tomorrow!!!!!!

    May 26, 2014 at 11:25 am

  12. Tonya Jones

    I love it…I’m certainly gonna make this and rock it on the beach when I go on vacation.

    May 26, 2014 at 12:36 pm

  13. kwanee

    Could I order the fringe online?kaprice78@hotmail.com

    May 26, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    • Try calling my local fabric store directly. International Silk + Woolens (323)653-6453. Ask for Nabilla or anyone in the notions department. They’ll ship it directly to you. I purchased 2 years of the 24 inch black fringe.

      Hope that helps and good luck!!!

      May 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

  14. Where can I find this fringe?

    May 27, 2014 at 6:13 am

    • Try calling my local fabric store directly. International Silk + Woolens (323)653-6453. Ask for Nabilla or anyone in the notions department. They’ll ship it directly to you if you live in the US. I purchased 2 years of the 24 inch black fringe.

      Hope that helps!

      May 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

  15. Ruth

    Where can I find that long of a fringe most fabric stores have shorter fringes and how long is your fringe?

    Its beautiful and stunning

    Thanks

    May 27, 2014 at 11:19 am

    • My fringe was 24 inches long. Try calling my local fabric store directly. International Silk + Woolens (323)653-6453. Ask for Nabilla or anyone in the notions department. They’ll ship it directly to you if you live in the US.

      Good Luck!

      May 27, 2014 at 3:00 pm

  16. LeTrice

    im having trouble finding the fringe i have looked at joanns which is my local store and how long is you fringe?

    May 27, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    • Try calling my local fabric store directly. International Silk + Woolens (323)653-6453. Ask for Nabilla or anyone in the notions department. They’ll ship it directly to you. I purchased 2 years of the 24 inch black fringe.

      xoxo

      May 27, 2014 at 3:00 pm

  17. Such a fun idea! this would look awesome as a part of a swimsuit as well.

    June 12, 2014 at 5:20 am

Leave a Reply

