Miss Kris Approved: Best Bras

Miss Kris Approved Best BrasMiss Kris Approved Best Bra 2-2

“What bra are you wearing?” Undoubtedly the most common email I receive aside from “What kind of glue should I use?”. Shopping for bras use to be my worst nightmare. No matter your size, finding a good bra and the right fit can be a challenge, but especially if you’re a girl built like me! I’ve always been a busty girl. I’m pretty sure I was born with a full B cup. I got my first bra in the 5th grade and I’ve been on the hunt for the best bra ever since then. The struggle is real!!!!!

I was not surprised when after posting my DIY feather peplum belt (here) my inbox was flooded with questions about the type of strapless bra I was wearing. I get it! I personally cannot walk into a Victoria’s Secret or into a Target and just pick up any ole bra off the shelf. A “plus-size” bra won’t work for me either. I’m a girl who needs a large cup size, but smaller brand. My Senior year of High School I was wearing a 30 DD… almost IMPOSSIBLE to find. My Mom and I use to joke that if Dolly Parton would open up a bra store, I’d be her favorite customers.

Needless to say I’m more than happy to share with you my current 4 favorites. I own all 4 of these bras. I purchased them with my own money (non of that blogger gifting and what not) and I recommend them. These bras are Miss Kris approved for girls like me whose cup runneth over. These bras work for me and hopefully this post will be helpful in pointing you in the direction of finding your bra bliss!

{MOST STYLISH} The A La Folie Plunge Bra by PrimaDonna Twist – If one more sales associate brought me a bra that looked like it should be hanging on the back of my Grandma’s bathroom door I WAS GOING TO SCREAM! Yes I need a large, supportive bra but I’m a fashionable 30 year old so Granny’s bra ain’t gonna cut it! My entire life changed when I made a visit to a lingerie store called Intimacy and discovered a line of bras called PrimaDonna. First, let me take a second to talk about Intimacy. This store changed my life!! Their sales associates are BEYOND knowledgeable. This was the first time in my life I’d had a proper bra fitting. If there’s a store near you, it’s worth a trip! They’re associates listened to my needs, totally understood my “NO MEMAW BRA” policy and fit my in the chicest bra of my life. Hands down this is my go to bra for when I need to feel like a grown woman! It’s a little pricey, but worth every cent.

{BEST STRAPLESS} The ‘4530’ Strapless Underwire Bra by Fantasie – A good strapless bra (like a man) can be hard to find! I’ve tried so many that just haven’t worked for me, but this strapless by Fantasie is a lifesaver. The cup on this bra is full coverage. When I wear it I really feel comfortable and most importantly, secure!  Which is a good thing because I wear this strapless under my sports bras for extra support while working out. This bra also comes with straps and it’s my go to for one shoulder and halter dresses!

{BEST BARGAIN} The ‘4520’ Smoothing Underwire Balconette Bra by Fantasie – Now full disclosure, I spend a lot of money on bras every year. I find that most of the supportive bras that are of good quality are European and honey they want you to spend your money on them! If dropping $120+ on a bra just isn’t in your budget, then this is the bra for you. At $50, in my opinion, it’s the best full coverage bra for busty girls on the market. It’s a great price and it’s the best multi use bra. It looks great under most garments, including t-shirts. Fantasie is a European company so you know they know how to make a good bra.

{MOST COMFORTABLE} The Kaela Demi Bra by Empreinte – Heaven! This bra is heaven! Don’t get me wrong all the bras on this list are comfortable, but this one is like having your bosom resting on a pile of clouds. lol We’re in our bras for HOURS a day so having one that won’t dig into your shoulders or pinch you on the sides is key. I could move in and live in this bra. It’s the most expensive on my list, but I find it hard to put a price tag on comfort.

Photo by Sylvia G

19 responses

  1. I love you.

    March 19, 2014 at 8:47 am

  2. Awesome post. Thanks for sharing.

    March 19, 2014 at 8:55 am

    • Hope it was helpful 🙂

      March 19, 2014 at 5:26 pm

  3. I have not even finished reading this post and I have to do two things; 1) like it and 2) save it so that I can save my pennies and buy these bras! Thank you so much for this post, I have been a busty girl my entire life as well (like a B cup since I was 11 now DDs) and the search for the perfect bras is such a downer, especially a good strapless (I’ve yet to find my holy grail). So I cannot wait to give your choices a try, I always prefer recommendations from ladies to have been through the struggle and tested the product! You rock!

    P.S. Love your blog!

    March 19, 2014 at 9:04 am

    • YEA!!!!! Def give this strapless a try. I’m a fan. So happy to hear you found this post helpful! xoxoxo

      March 19, 2014 at 5:29 pm

  4. great tip.. I’ve been looking for good ones too.. I actually tried the Wacoal Bras and theirs are an awesome fit too.. and the best part – they guarantee them for a year.. (yippeee) if anything defects just send them back to the company (with your receipt) and they’ll replace.. that was the seller to me.. I’ve purchased several bras from VS and 4-5 months later the clasp breaks or the wire comes out (which is awrful)

    March 19, 2014 at 11:09 am

    • Wacoal makes the Fantasie line I believe so you’ll prob love the way those fit too. I had no idea about the 3 year guarantee though! That’s AMAZING!!!!! Thanks for sharing! xo

      March 19, 2014 at 5:30 pm

  5. oops.. awful

    March 19, 2014 at 11:09 am

  6. You are my hero of the week…at a mininum my WCW! you look fantastic in the photo. I will be replicating…The post is ON point. I’ve been in the DD club since I was 14. I just got fitted at Nordstroms–34G’s. Wowza. but my girls have never been happier, higher and supported. That’s what’s life is about. I will be running to get the strapless this week! ❤ thank you!

    March 19, 2014 at 11:33 am

    • Awwwwwww thanks! Yes, it’s amazing how finding the right fit will change your life!!!!!

      March 19, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    • Camille

      Girl, I feel ya! 32G over here.

      March 19, 2014 at 7:57 pm

  7. Fantastic post. Me and my Mum used to joke about a Dolly Parton range when I was 16. I also find Kelly Brooke’s range to be pretty and practical as well. Not worn a strapless for ten years – I’ll have to give one a try again soon.

    March 19, 2014 at 11:53 am

    • Yes! I def think this strapless is worth a shot! xoxo

      March 19, 2014 at 5:33 pm

  8. You look like a one of those bombshell pin up girls- hubba hubba!! I don’t really care how that sounds, either (I guess I’m getting old lol)

    March 19, 2014 at 6:33 pm

  9. sikolakjengkol

    Reblogged this on kolak jengkol.

    March 19, 2014 at 7:12 pm

  10. Reta

    Thanks for this post! I have the same issues as you. Small band big cup. I own the strapless bra and it is the truth. People ask how does she have on a strapless dress! I have also been to intimacy for a fitting. They have excellent service and serve you champagne. But the bras are very expensive. Nordstrom also has good fittings and decent bras. Most are old fuddie bras though. I love this post!!!!!!!! Saving my money for at least the first and the last bras. Thanks so much.

    March 19, 2014 at 7:48 pm

  11. Camille

    Oh man, I love this. Target and VS has no love for the busty girls with small band sizes! I was a 32DD in high school… And after I got on the pill I went up a few more cup sizes. I love freya as well as fantasie! I’ll be checking out that strapless bra soon. Thanks for including the sexy bras too!

    March 19, 2014 at 7:55 pm

  12. Alicia

    I feel so left out. As a 32A, I have a hard time as well (honey, I am 41 with bra issues, I pad up so I don’t look like a boy). Everything is just too cuppy…is that even a word? lol. And, I agree, you look like a pinup model!! I guess we can all agree that bra hunting is no fun for anyone, but I love the advice.

    March 20, 2014 at 10:23 am

Leave a Reply

