Happy Mardi Gras: Let The Good Times Roll

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 1 True I was born and raised in Houston, Texas but my family is Creole with deep roots in Louisiana (extra points if you’ve ever heard of/ driven through Crowley, Louisiana!!!). Growing up Creole meant family gatherings centered around a big pot of gumbo, hot sauce and Tony Chachere’s were staples in my Mom’s pantry, a crawfish boil was a perfectly acceptable way to celebrate HS graduation, on Christmas Eve you leave Santa a shrimp po’ boy and pralines for dessert and on the Tuesday before Lent you celebrate FAT TUESDAY!!!!

Traditionally speaking Fat Tuesday is the last day of partying and debauchery before the fasting and penitence season of Lent, which begins on Ash Wednesday. I lived in New Orleans for 4 years while I attended college so trust me I definitely have first hand knowledge of the authentic Mardi Gras experience. Carnival season is one of the many, many, many things I miss about New Orleans. I always get a little homesick at this time of the year.

In honor of Mardi Gras, I grabbed my Creole sister from another mister Taye (from Stuff She Likes) and headed over to one of my favorite creole eateries in LA, The Gumbo Pot at the Original Farmers Market. Nothing cures a case of the “missing Mardi Gras blues” like a bowl of gumbo!

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 2

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 3

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 4

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 5Sweater from H&M | NOLA shirt from Fleurty Girl |  Necklace from Lulu Frost | Jeans from AG Jeans | Tote from JustFab

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 6Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 7 2

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 8

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 9on the menu: shrimp po’ boy, gumbo, read beans and rice, cornbread, greens, fried okra, beignets

Miss Kris Mardi Gras The Farmers Market Los Angeles 10If you’re in the LA area and looking for a festive way to celebrate Fat Tuesday, stop by the Original Farmers Market for their 25th annual Mardi Gras celebration. From 6:30-9:30pm they’ll be letting the good times roll with good food and good music. Click here for all the event details.

Photos by Sylvia G.

8 responses

  1. Yum! I’m so hungry right now! 🙂 Looks delicious! 🙂

    thanks for sharing, xx
    morethanlabels.co.uk

    March 4, 2014 at 6:28 am

  2. My goodness, all of that look soo good!! All of it!

    March 4, 2014 at 7:48 am

  3. Mandee

    Oh yeah! I live an hour from Crowley, LA. Even though it’s raining we are enjoying all of the Mardi Gras festivities and as always the great food. So awesome to hear that you have Creole roots too!

    March 4, 2014 at 8:08 am

  4. You look so pretty! Love that shirt.

    March 4, 2014 at 8:27 am

  5. What a cool restaurant! #teamtabasco
    http://www.tcyellow.wordpress.com

    March 4, 2014 at 3:57 pm

  6. like the very REAL pictures!

    March 5, 2014 at 7:15 am

  7. Can I just say I love how Taye is “serving” even when pouring hot sauce! YASS HUNTY! 🙂

    March 5, 2014 at 11:59 am

  8. I miss being home during the Mardi Gras season. It’s torture seeing my family parade pictures on social media, while I’m stuck in a city with 10 degree weather and snow. The food at the Farmer’s market looks delish!!!

    March 5, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Leave a Reply

