For Your Consideration: Vintage Movie Posters

1254368648We’re days away from Hollywood’s Superbowl, Oscar Sunday! I love living in LA at this time of year. There’s a magic in the air. There’s something so very classic and timeless about the Oscars. I mean after all this is the 86th Academy Awards show!!!! This event is fully of history and glamour. In honor of the upcoming awards, a look at a few vintage movie posters featuring some of our favorite (and legendary) leading ladies. I love the artwork of a vintage movie poster… a true throwback to the times of big studios. Plus, framed these posters make a fantastic home decor pieces.

What’s your favorite “old Hollywood” movie? I could watch How To Marry A Millionaire over and over again.

vintage movie posters miss kris oscars

10 responses

  1. I love this. Cool post.

    February 27, 2014 at 9:01 am

    • Thanks πŸ™‚

      February 28, 2014 at 2:31 pm

  2. Marian Booth

    I like Breakfast at Tiffany’s and Carmen Jones those are the two movies I could watch over again. Claudine is a good movie but I don’t know if I would call that vintage. πŸ˜€

    February 27, 2014 at 9:10 am

    • Oh I’ve never seen Claudine! I’ll have to check it out!!

      February 28, 2014 at 2:31 pm

  3. Lisa

    My very favorite old movie is Charade, for the story and action, and I also like Carmen Jones, Rebecca, and Roman Holiday A LOT. Pinky is the movie that first made me aware, at a very young age and home sick with tonsillitis, why the Civil Rights Movement my parents had spoken of was so important, because I just didn’t see racism back then in my blended neighborhood and elementary school. I most love to watch movies of the forties and fifties for the fashion, the side eye, and the dialogue. Vintage movie posters are often such fantastic works of art that we just don’t see in abundance anymore. Good post, Miss Kris! I’m off to load up my Netflix queue.

    February 27, 2014 at 10:39 am

    • Thanks for this comment!!!! I too am adding a few movies to my Netflixs! I LOVE Roman Holiday. And I’ve never seen Pinky, but I’ll have to watch. xo

      February 28, 2014 at 2:33 pm

  4. Gone with the wind is an amazing poster. Breakfast at Tiffany’s is amazing movie though
    Lauren
    livinginaboxx

    February 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

  5. My fav one has to be Breakfast at Tiffany’s – I’m such a big Audrey Hepburn’s fan and that film is iconic.

    thanks for sharing! xx

    morethanlabels.co.uk

    February 28, 2014 at 7:57 am

  6. I have a vintage style breakfast at Tiffany’s poster in my room, love it so much!

    February 28, 2014 at 2:25 pm

  7. I could watch Breakfast at Tiffany’s over and over.

    March 2, 2014 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

