Star Power: My DIY Jem And The Hologram Inspired Crystal Star Button Earrings

Miss Kris Jem And The Holograms Crystal Star Earrings DIYLots of questions about the star earrings I was wearing in my blog change announcement post (here). Yep you guys guess it… I made them! I actually made them years ago long before I was really into blogging. I was shopping vintage and this lady was selling a bag of metal buttons. In the bag I discovered these two star buttons. Instantly they remided me of my childhood hero, Jem of Jem and the Holograms fame (y’all remember her, right?!) and her magical star earrings. I removed the shank from the back of the earring and used E6000 to apply an earring post, but before doing so I spend a few hours applying tiny crystals to the buttons because I’m sure that’s what Jem would have wanted me to do! These earrings have got to be one of my truly prized crafted possessions. Pictured above with a few of my other favorite things: the Emily yellow neon lucite clutch from Tess Handbags, Essie‘s “Find Me An Oasis” polish and Maybelline‘s Hibiscus Haven lipcolor.

Click here to see how to use a similar DIY process to create fabulous button rings.

Miss Kris Jem And The Holograms Crystal Star Earrings DIY 2

6 responses

  1. LOVE THIS. Now, if I can only DIY a Synergy…..
    ~Anna

    February 20, 2014 at 1:09 pm

  2. Those are really fantastic earrings!! Thanks for sharing!

    February 20, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  3. Those earrings! So cute & simple! I might even be able to do it!

    February 21, 2014 at 8:52 am

  4. Omg, you Rock! I love those Jem earrings, now you inspired me to make some for myself. Jem would be so proud πŸ™‚

    February 21, 2014 at 3:32 pm

  5. The earrings are awesome!! You are so creative!! πŸ™‚

    February 22, 2014 at 9:28 pm

  6. These are an amazing DIY project to get a beautiful piece of custom jewelry. I have used Rhinestoneshop for a great selection of rhinestones to customize your earrings even more. Thanks Miss Kris!

    February 27, 2014 at 10:41 am

Leave a Reply

