Allow Me To Reintroduce Myself…

Introducing Miss Kris Glitter N Glue NEWWhen I was 14 years old my family packed up and moved from Houston, Texas (where I was born and raised) to Morristown, New Jersey. We moved because my Dad was transferred for work, but according to 14 year old Kristen my parents moved because they were trying to RUIN MY LIFE! lol I’ve never been good with change. Obviously, this post is about change so let’s hold hands and get through this together.

Those of you following along on YouTube know this past Summer was my 30th Birthday. It was then that I started thinking about work and changing the name of my blog. Changing not because I was no longer obsessed with glitter or glue, but changing because I felt I was outgrowing it.  I still love all things crafty and coming up with cool project for you guys every week, but the name just didn’t seem to completely fit me anymore. I struggled with this name change idea for a few months. Then one day a note landed in my inbox that brought a little more clarity to the situation:

Hi Kristen! I just wanted to send you a little note to say thank you. You’ve become such an inspiration to me. I love all of your DIY projects. Your ideas are always so fun and creative, but I have to admit I’ve never made a single project and honestly I don’t think I ever will. I just like to look. With that being said I will ALWAYS continue to log on.  I don’t think you’ll ever be able to fully grasp what you’ve done for me. For me it’s not about arts and crafts. I go to your site because I feel like I have a friend in you, although we’ve never met and I don’t actually know you. Your confidence is encouraging and you don’t take yourself to seriously. You really seem to just be enjoying life and I admire that. Because of you I’m learning to be comfortable in my own skin. I’m learning to love my body (curves and all) and most importantly, myself. Thank you. Keep doing you! Always, Vanessa C.

I cried for hours after receiving this email. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, I’m always appreciative of the emails/ tweets/ FB messages that you guys send me. The truth is I will never be able to completely explain how you guys/ this blog have helped me learn to be comfortable in my own skin. Vanessa C. helped me realize that the heart of this blog has never really been about the actual glitter or the glue, it’s always been about my personal journey- my creative, crafty, crazy journey through life.  This blog has been a form of public therapy and I’m thankful my personal growth is evident through my content and that it’s helpful to others. Miss Vanessa’s email (and countless others from you guys along the same line) helped me realize becoming Miss Kris was a change I needed to embrace!

Miss Kris Glitter N Glue SEQUINS

Why Miss Kris? You guys know my Mom and I are besties. We chat at least once a day …twice on a good day… and at least 3 times on a day filled with interesting celebrity gossip! When I call my Mom and she picks up the phone, knowing I’m on the other end she’ll answer… “Hey Miss Kris”! I always look forward to those conversations with my Mom. Seriously, nothing beats a good kiki with your best friend. I want ever post on this blog to be just that, a fab conversation between friends.

Ok this is cute and all, but I come here for the DIY projects? Are you going to stop doing DIY projects? No! I promise the DIY projects aren’t going anywhere. Glittering and gluing is just a part of my life. (PS: click here to see how I DIYed this sequin dress). I’m only going to enhance the quality of content on Miss Kris by adding more how-to lifestyle content and introducing you to other inspiring people who find fashionable and creative ways to “make it work” (<- Tim Gunn voice).

Thank you for being a friend. Thank you for all your love and support over the past 3 years of Glitter ‘N Glue. While this change feels like the right move for me to make at this time, it’s been difficult leaving behind a part of me that I have loved for so long. Thanks to all of my friends that have supported a sista as I worked through this. As my friend Christina so lovingly stated to me over gChat… “It’s time to pour one out for [Glitter ‘N Glue] and then move on… on to bigger and better… it’s time to celebrate the future and possibilities of greatness!” I’m pretty sure she stole that out of a Hallmark greeting card, but I appreciate her for saying and couldn’t agree more. So with that cheers… to the future and cheers to the possibilities of greatness! xo

Miss Kris Glitter 'N GluePhotos by Sylvia G.

Follow on Instagram + Twitter  @MissKrisTurner

58 responses

  1. I love it! Great photos! Cheers to revamping your site and pulling a Madonna on us and redefining yourself!

    February 12, 2014 at 7:15 am

    • lol as I was going through this process I kept thinking of Madonna. The queen of reinvention. lol Thanks!! xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:39 pm

  2. jayleemiguel

    You’re such a babe 🙂 x

    February 12, 2014 at 7:15 am

  3. Candace

    Bravo!

    February 12, 2014 at 7:23 am

  4. Tia

    Miss Kris, you are a jewel! I can’t wait to call you “Lady Kris” when you reach your next milestone. I appreciate Vanessa C’s inspirational letter. I haven’t made anything yet but I did purchase the brass cuffs (6) with good intentions. I believe I will complete that project this weekend and give 5 as gifts…my way to say thank you for your gift to us. Pass it on…

    February 12, 2014 at 7:24 am

    • I love this idea!!! #PassItOn Have fun making your cuffs I know they’ll mean a lot to those you gift. xoxo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:41 pm

  5. Genae

    Congratulations Miss Kris, love the new pics and the bottom one is my fav! Keep doing you!

    February 12, 2014 at 7:32 am

    • Thank you! 🙂

      February 12, 2014 at 11:41 pm

  6. WOOT! Get it girlie!!! Love this! Love the sass too!

    February 12, 2014 at 7:37 am

    • Love you! Thank you Miss Marie!! xoxo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:42 pm

  7. Love this post so much!!!! So fabulous!! Congrats babe!

    February 12, 2014 at 8:28 am

    • Thank you!!! xoxoxo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:42 pm

  8. Thank you for writing this. I love your blog and this particular post is right on time!

    February 12, 2014 at 8:47 am

    • Glad to hear!!! xoxo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:43 pm

  9. You look like a movie star! I only learned about you fairly recently and have been loving your DIY projects. So pleased to hear that your blog has been important to you and that you have felt yourself grow and change. It’s so important for all of us-I’m 67 and still “growing”. Lots of Hugs.

    February 12, 2014 at 9:10 am

    • Thank you! Hugs right back!!! xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:59 pm

  10. Daphne

    I love it! I discovered your blog about a year ago at 41 years old, and I love your energyand your style, especially your wonderful humor! Cheers to you Miss Kris!

    February 12, 2014 at 9:20 am

    • Thank you!!! Cheers!

      February 12, 2014 at 11:58 pm

  11. Congrats!!!! You are an amazing person with a giant heart!!!! Carry On!!! Xo

    February 12, 2014 at 9:29 am

    • Awwwww Thanks! #CarryOn

      February 12, 2014 at 11:58 pm

  12. It looks amazing! Congrats!

    February 12, 2014 at 9:30 am

  13. Hi Miss Kris! I have been meaning to send you a note to let you know how much I appreciate your work and your voice. I too am a crafty gal who has been blogging (www.ispaci.com) and I love that you are so brave and are making your own path in life. Congrats on this transition into the next phase. I read all of your blog posts and enjoy them all! I turned 30 a few years ago and remember what a big milestone it was in my life. Thank you for sharing your journey with us and I’m excited to follow you and see all the wonderful things you will have to offer the world as “Miss Kris!” 🙂

    February 12, 2014 at 10:14 am

    • Thank you so much for this sweet note, Cherise! Thank you!!! xo

      February 13, 2014 at 12:00 am

  14. I just have to say I adore you! You keep it real. You’re darling, so funny and your posts read like you’re inside my head. You’re totally a bestie in my head. Thank you for sharing yourself with the world. You’re a blessing!

    February 12, 2014 at 10:15 am

    • This is so sweet!!!!! Thank you! Thank you!!! xoxo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:45 pm

  15. Tas

    Congrats Miss Kris!

    February 12, 2014 at 10:44 am

    • Thank you! 🙂 xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:44 pm

  16. You look amazing in these photographs, they really capture your fun spirit!

    February 12, 2014 at 11:06 am

    • Thank you! I’m glad the fun factor came across!!! xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:44 pm

  17. Love that you shared so authentically your evolving brand and unique qualities that make you so special!

    February 12, 2014 at 11:18 am

    • Thank you, Jan!

      February 12, 2014 at 11:37 pm

  18. You look amazing and I like the new name.. Keep the joyful spirit and vivacious attitude for your readers.. We enjoy you

    February 12, 2014 at 11:19 am

    • Will do! Thank you! xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:37 pm

  19. MissTaNiaB

    You look amazing!!

    February 12, 2014 at 11:27 am

    • Thank you!!! 🙂

      February 12, 2014 at 11:37 pm

      • MissTaNiaB

        You’re welcome

        February 13, 2014 at 5:28 am

  20. Anita

    We all love you! How freaking fabulous is that dress. I have hair envy too. Love from Australia! @champagnebutterflies x

    February 12, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    • Thank you, Anita!!!! I appreciate all your support! xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:36 pm

  21. Kristine Bengs

    I like it! Good for you! kb

    February 12, 2014 at 2:44 pm

  22. Love the name it fits you so well to, very lovely pictures too! Congrats of the changes!

    February 12, 2014 at 5:18 pm

  23. Son and Sun

    Congratulations and best wishes on the new (ad)venture! Upwards and onwards 🙂

    February 12, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    • I like that …(ad)venture! Thank you!! xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:35 pm

  24. LyndaV

    You are FABULOUS Miss Kris!!

    February 12, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    • hehe thank you!! xo

      February 12, 2014 at 11:34 pm

  25. I like it! Change is hard, and stressful as hell, BUT if it looks this good…then baby (insert southern accent), I’ll take it! Lookin’ good love..

    http://thepinnestsjournal.blogspot.com

    February 13, 2014 at 2:47 am

  26. Love it….

    February 13, 2014 at 5:07 am

  27. I absolutely LOVE the photo shoot! The dress you’re wearing is lovely.

    February 13, 2014 at 7:11 am

  28. wish I had this kind of relationship with my mom.
    what lipstick are you wearing it’s so fab!

    February 13, 2014 at 8:20 am

  29. Congrats on the new site! I can’t wait to see what’s in store for Miss Kris 🙂

    February 13, 2014 at 12:11 pm

  30. That dress is everything! Reinvention is always a good thing!

    February 13, 2014 at 5:40 pm

  31. You look stunning!

    February 16, 2014 at 4:25 am

  32. Pingback: Paths, Forks and Roads | Honesty's Protégée

  33. Congratulations!!

    February 18, 2014 at 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

