DIY: Lemon + Vanilla Body Scrub

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss KrisLooking for a quick and easy Christmas gift for your Sister, best friend, coworker or Mom? How about a hostess gift to take with you to the Holiday party? Or maybe you just need a little alone time to relax in a warm bubble bath after a long day of spreading Holiday cheer?!?! This easy, DIY at home body scrub is the answer to all of the above.

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss Kris LEMONS3 cups of sugar | 3/4 cups of olive oil | 2 tablespoons of vanilla | 1 fresh lemon (juice)

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss Kris OILIn a mixing bowl, add 3/4 cups of olive oil to 3 cups of sugar.

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss Kris VANILLANext, mix in 2 tablespoons of vanilla.

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss Kris STIR

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss Kris LEMONThen, add the juice from 1 freshly squeezed lemon to your mixture.

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss Kris SCOOPScoop your scrub into decorative jars (available here). Add a name tag or festive bow for decoration.

Glitter N Glue DIY Body Scrub Miss Kris FULLThere are many different recipes to making a body scrub. I love this combination because I had most of the ingredients in my kitchen. I used granulated sugar as the base for my scrub because my skin is often sensitive, but for those of you looking for a real exfoliant, use Sugar In The Raw or sea salt. The grains are much more coarse and it will really exfoliate your skin.

16 responses

  1. Marian Booth

    Hello Kristen, you are right, there are different body scrubs but I like yours because you not only showed things you can use out of your homes but the ingredients were pure and fresh without the extra fragrance that I feel that should not be in a scrub that goes on your body. Can this scrub be used as a lip scrub as well? Thanks ๐Ÿ˜‰

    December 16, 2013 at 5:01 am

    • I would think so! This scrub is pretty gentle. I think it would work well on the lips!

      December 16, 2013 at 8:07 am

  2. Reblogged this on Curiosidades na internet.

    December 16, 2013 at 6:16 am

  3. Thanks for sharing!! I am making a lip scrub for my co workers. Very good idea! I may do this for my son’s teacher.

    Te’Rea
    http://www.chic-n-everything.blogspot.com

    December 16, 2013 at 6:55 am

  4. This looks fabulous! We made a brown sugar scrub, you should check it out!

    December 16, 2013 at 2:17 pm

  5. Marian Booth

    How many jars does this body scrub ingredients makes? Because I was just thinking of making one for myself for now and how long does this scrub last as far as shelf life? Thanks a million ๐Ÿ˜„

    December 16, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    • I’m not exactly sure about it’s shelf life since this is my first go round making a scrub, but I do know that you have to keep the lid on the jar or else it will dry out and become hard. I didn’t scoop my entire batch into jars and the scrub that remained in the bowl overnight is as hard as a rock! lol

      I made 5 jars using this recipe, but it depends on the size of your jars. At first I had mason jars and it only filled up 2 of them so I switched to much smaller jars and got a little more run out of this recipe!

      December 17, 2013 at 7:41 am

  6. Pingback: Simplifying for sanity during the holidays โ€” Scratch Treehouse

  7. Cindy

    Dito on the question about its shelf life. As usual you’re a wealth of inspiration!! Love this!

    December 17, 2013 at 5:45 am

    • Iโ€™m not exactly sure about itโ€™s shelf life since this is my first go round making a scrub, but I do know that you have to keep the lid on the jar or else it will dry out and become hard. I didnโ€™t scoop my entire batch into jars and the scrub that remained in the bowl overnight is as hard as a rock! lol

      December 17, 2013 at 7:42 am

  8. Pingback: DIY: Lemon + Vanilla Body Scrub | Ambition of a Blonde Bedouin

  9. Thanks for posting. Looks great..

    December 17, 2013 at 8:53 am

  10. Marian Booth

    Hello Kristen this is not a question but just wanted to say THANKS ALOT!! for replying to all my questions and comments. ๐Ÿ˜„

    December 17, 2013 at 12:28 pm

  11. ModernDayMagnoliaPearl

    Reblogged this on Little Gypsy Lady.

    December 17, 2013 at 9:23 pm

  12. This scrub is soooo good! I recently made a body scrub using Raw Sugar and it was way too harsh on my skin…. This option with granulated sugar is perfect!!! Thanks For Sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

    December 18, 2013 at 9:57 am

  13. I love this! I am going to make this tomorrow! Thank you Kristen!

    December 16, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Leave a Reply

