Chanel No. 5

marilyn-monroe-chanel-no-5 GlitterNGlueI’m officially declaring today the official, unofficial Chanel No.5 day! It’s an international holiday, y’all. Talk about a staple of an iconic brand that has stood the test of time. When I think of Chanel No.5 I automatically think of my Grandmother …my Mom’s Mom. This is her signature sent. I’m pretty sure she’s been wearing it since the day Coco squeezed out the 1st drop. I say that not to say that it’s old, but to say that in my life it’s the symbol of class, femininity and beauty. Red lip, Ferragamo flats, Louis Vuitton bag, a dash of No. 5 and my Grandma was out the door. And obviously no matter the decade that image still resonates with us. Recently Chanel released a new commercial of an old Hollywood legend selling us the perfume and we’re eating it up! Sorry Brad, but we’ll let Miss Marilyn take it from here…

il_570xN.331609592My Grandmother saved most of her old Chanel bottles. I’m so lucky to have a small collection of them, but if you’re looking to add a few to your collection try searching ebay and etsy. From time to time a few pop up!

il_570xN.387843289_oa4eI adore this Chanel illustration by artist Melissa Bailey. It’s available to purchase on her Etsy shop (here). Her shop is closed which is closed until Nov. 23, but will be open in just enough time to place those Holiday orders (read adding this to my Christmas list). How elegant with this print be framed in your house?

IMG_4120Chanel No. 5 is clearly a hot trend this Fall and not just in the beauty department. Perfume bottle clutches spotted all over the place (here and here). Now the Chanel clutch retail for $9,500 (<- yes, girl) but Alana from Dream, create has come up with a clever way to DIY the look (here). I’m obsessing and collecting lucite as we speak.

IMG_4125

8 responses

  1. Anjanette Custard

    I love this! I think this would make a perfect gift for my friend..

    November 12, 2013 at 10:06 am

  2. The O.R.

    My contribution to the official unofficial Chanel No.5 day.

    http://theortx.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/take-off-your-clothes-leave-those-heels-on-and-that-chanel-no-5/

    November 12, 2013 at 10:41 am

  3. She had such a lovely voice.

    November 12, 2013 at 12:35 pm

  4. I love cha

    November 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm

  5. Reblogged this on CARIBBEAN VIBE – Whats News.

    November 12, 2013 at 1:18 pm

  6. Marian Booth

    I adore Chanel anything. When I seen this DIY OMG I got to make this for myself.

    November 13, 2013 at 11:03 am

  7. No woman could resist the temptation of Chanel 5.

    November 15, 2013 at 12:38 am

  8. I love this post and the DIY is SO GOOD! Thanks!

    November 23, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Leave a Reply

