Sky High: DIY Over The Knee Boots

GNG Over The Knee Boot DIY 2 Over the knee boots are the hottest Fall shoe trend. There are so many wonderful pairs out there, but here’s a easy way to transform  your favorite pair of booties  into a fab pair of boots.  Who doesn’t love a little wardrobe versatility?

GNG Over The Knee Boot DIY  MATERIALSMATERIALS: Faux Seude/ Leather Fabric, Scissors, Fabric Glue, Needle + Thread

GNG Over The Knee Boot DIY  SKETCHEssentially what we’re making is a fancy pair of leg warmers. I know… leg warmers!!!! Purchase a yard of faux leather or faux suede. Do your best to match the fabric of the boots you’re trying to transform. Then, cut your fabric into two piece. The width should be the distance around your calf PLUS one inch (the extra inch will become your seam. 17 inches in my case) and the length should be the distance from your heel to over your knee (21 inches in my case). Add a healthy amount of glue to your one inch seam allowance and fold the other side over to meet it. Allow some time to dry and add a free hand stitch to secure.

GNG Over The Knee Boot DIY JUST FAB BOOTIEMy FAVORITE Fall booties. Seriously, I’m wearing a hole in them. And of course I’m about to get even more mileage out of them now that I can convert them to over the knee boots!

GNG Over The Knee Boot DIY  DETAILSweater from H&M (similar available online) | Ring 1 + Ring 2 from Capwell | Ring 3 + 4 (similar)

GNG Over The Knee Boot DIY DTLAThe magic that is Downtown Los Angeles at sunset

GNG Over The Knee Boot DIY BEAUTY SHOTPhotos by the fab Sylvia G

19 responses

  1. You look beautiful. Lovely post!

    November 5, 2013 at 12:42 am

  2. Great idea, Im might try that!

    November 5, 2013 at 1:34 am

  3. hrsparks

    Oh my goodness, this is genius! Why didn’t I think if this before? I have such a hard time finding boots that fit over my huge calves. Thank you!

    November 5, 2013 at 6:57 am

  4. Cool idea! I agree with hrsparks! Looks like they’re long enough to tuck inside the bootie too…same items, different look!

    November 5, 2013 at 10:24 am

  5. These look brilliant! Great DIY
    Lauren
    livinginaboxx

    November 5, 2013 at 12:44 pm

  6. So creative! I love it!

    November 5, 2013 at 1:23 pm

  7. This is probably one of my favorite DIY’s that you’ve done. What a great idea!
    whybuyitdiyit

    November 5, 2013 at 10:15 pm

  8. omg what an AWESOME DIY idea!!!!!

    November 6, 2013 at 8:25 am

  9. Always creative and inspiring – LOVE this idea!

    ~Whitney
    http://www.whitneynicjames.com

    November 6, 2013 at 9:12 am

  10. K.B.

    Omg! I love this is! I have wide calves and now I can actually rock “knee highs boots”! Thanks Kristin!

    November 7, 2013 at 4:55 am

  11. someone like you

    Hi! Did you notice you have been featured in a font page of a Finnish fashion blog portal? http://www.refashion.fi ❤ ❤ ❤

    November 7, 2013 at 11:37 am

  12. Pretty darn cute!

    November 8, 2013 at 12:31 pm

  13. This is great! I adore boots and the DIY tips allow you to enjoy booties two ways for a fraction of the price of taller boots. Adore!

    November 8, 2013 at 4:38 pm

  14. Why have I never thought of this? Thanks for the tip and DIY idea. Great way to get two pairs of boots, and two completely different looks, on the cheap!

    November 10, 2013 at 8:36 am

  15. Great idea! I couldn’t tell they weren’t made like that just by looking at the pic!

    November 12, 2013 at 10:20 am

  16. This is amazing! And it really looks good on you. Do you think it would still look okay if I make mine 5 inches shorter?

    November 21, 2013 at 4:36 am

    • Hmmmmm I would worry that if they weren’t above your knee they wouldn’t stay but, but it’s worth a shot!!

      November 22, 2013 at 8:25 am

  17. So I hope no one laughs at me but I’ve had issues with knee boots sagging and it always bothered me. I was worried that this DIY would do the same thing. I have issues with both of my knees due to improper workouts and I have to wear a sleeve occasionally. What I ended up doing was sewing the material around the sleeve. So now I have my knee support and my boots. Lol even if you don’t have a knee issue, I’d say its worth a shot.

    November 25, 2013 at 7:25 am

  18. so cuuuuuttttteeeee

    December 6, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

