DIY: Tortoise and Turquoise Sole Society “Smythe” Sunglasses

Glitter N Glue DIY Color Block Sunglasses Sole SocietyTortoise print and turquoise is one of my favorite combos. The second my Sole Society Smythe sunglasses (available here) arrived I knew I wanted to enhance them with a splash of turquoise. My absolute favorite shad of turquoise is Essie’s Turquoise & Caicos. Although I’ve seen this project floating around the internet where people have used the nail polish as paint, the truth is I’m almost 30 now and can’t consume the smell of nail polish the way I use to! I substituted the nail polish for Martha Stewart’s Beach Glass colored paint, but the results were just as fab!

Glitter N Glue DIY Color Block Sunglasses Sole Society TAPEUse painters tape to help you guide the lines on the glasses you wish to create.

Glitter N Glue DIY Color Block Sunglasses Sole Society  PAINTGive you glasses a good coat or two of paint. Should you decide to use your favorite nail color, keep in mind that you might need to apply 3 or 4 coats to get a really vibrant color.

Glitter N Glue DIY Color Block Sunglasses Sole Society FRONTAllow some time for your paint to dry then remove your painters tape.

Glitter N Glue DIY Color Block Sunglasses Sole Society SIDE

Click here to watch my latest glitter embellished sunglasses video tutorial. And don’t forget to subscribe to the Glitter ‘N Glue YouTube channel!

20 responses

  1. Very cool!

    July 24, 2013 at 12:16 pm

  2. Love the splash of color! Easy way to upgrade some of my shades that have seen better days.

    July 24, 2013 at 2:49 pm

  3. OMFG- this is TOO awesome! I am so going to try this – I;m thinking a coral color.

    ♥ Paula Shoe Fiend.
    http://shoe-fiend.blogspot.co.uk/

    July 24, 2013 at 3:24 pm

  4. I would never think to do that but now that you’ve down this I’m obsessed! I’ve recently discovered a love of DIY projects so I’m trying to fit it in now! I’ll add this to my must do list!

    xo
    Kara
    http://www.thebostonista.com

    July 24, 2013 at 5:35 pm

  5. Great idea! I saw a program on TV claiming that one company in Italy controls the entire glasses industry in the world. They manufacture for all the labels and designer as well.. and this is the reason there is no competition and glasses are so expensive! So irritating isn’t it? Sara

    July 24, 2013 at 9:11 pm

  6. alice

    Such an interesting and refreshing idea! Love it.

    July 24, 2013 at 10:50 pm

  7. Oh wow, they look really good! xox

    http://www.notcentralfashion.wordpress.com

    July 25, 2013 at 3:44 am

  8. Reblogged this on Stix & Stones .

    July 25, 2013 at 6:02 am

  9. LOVE this idea! I use nail polish to paint designs on my gold leather gogo boots; just tape it off and you’re good to go(go).

    July 25, 2013 at 8:47 am

  10. Reblogueó esto en Estilovesyourstyle's.

    July 26, 2013 at 8:47 am

  11. cheriechic

    I have so many Sun Glasses, I’ll definitely try this out.

    July 26, 2013 at 4:18 pm

  12. Nice idea 🙂

    July 30, 2013 at 4:01 am

  13. super cute! wish i had the crafty gene like you // in the meantime, i’ll just live vicariously through you in your blog. ha!

    August 1, 2013 at 8:39 pm

  14. So cool! I love mint green for the summer.
    Amazing blog, really inspiring
    x
    http://fashinspo.wordpress.com

    August 2, 2013 at 9:27 am

  15. It looks so cool! I’ll try it out definitely!

    August 4, 2013 at 5:42 am

  16. such a cool idea… I might take some paint to my glasses 🙂

    http://ahandfulofsunshinecreative.wordpress.com/

    Jx

    August 8, 2013 at 10:46 am

  17. A

    This is wicked! never been a fan of sunglasses but I am so doing this before I go traveling.

    August 10, 2013 at 1:41 pm

  18. Love this! Great idea, I go in search of my old sunnies now.

    shortskirtsandhighheels.wordpress.com

    Tolly
    x

    August 18, 2013 at 8:48 am

  19. Very cute and quick way to revamp sunglasses!

    August 21, 2013 at 7:38 am

  20. Pingback: Crafts and Cocktails with TOMS Eyewear + GIVEAWAY |

Leave a Reply

