DIY: Glitter Hat a la Janet Jackson And The Rhythm Nation

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Cap DIYThe birthday countdown is so official right now (here)! Of course I needed a little #Team1983 glitter hat to celebrate the occasion. I’ve been obsessing over these hats with oversized letters the celebs have been rockin’ for awhile now, but couldn’t really find one that I loved. Last weekend my friend was wearing the Adeen 1991 hardware number hat and it inspired me! I knew I wanted to put my own glittery spin on the trend.

The best thing about this project is that you can make your hat read whatever you would like. I think my next hat will be gold glitter and will say Kristen!

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Cap DIY MATERIALSMaterials: Basic Baseball Cap, Glitter, Glue, Painters Tape, Chalk, Sponge Brush

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Cap DIY WRITEUse you painters tape as a guide so that all of your numbers are the same height. Use chalk to hand draw your numbers onto your hat. DON’T WORRY if you don’t like the way your drew on your numbers the first time. Dampen your sponge brush, erase your chalk numbers and try again!

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Cap DIY GLUEUse the glue to trace over your numbers.

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Cap DIY GLITTERSprinkle a healthy amount of glue over the glue.  Shake off the access to reveal your glitter numbers.

DIY TIP: If you’re into glitterizing  things as much as I am then owning the Martha Stewart glitter trays are a MUST (here)!  These trays are so genius! One of the corners has a little spout on it which means you can do your glittering over the tray and then pour the extra glitter back into  container to use again later! GENIUS!

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Hat DIY

PROGRAMMING NOTE: Being that I’m days away from turning 30, I wanted to create a new video series on my YouTube channel that chronicles this new phase of life. If you guys saw the video teaser I uploaded to the channel last week then you already know what I’m talking about!!! Yesterday I launched a new show called Kristen, obviously! The content of these videos will be a tad more personal and not like my regular DIY videos. It’s a weekly (Mondays) video diary about my life/ turning 30/ becoming a for real grown up/ yada, yada, yada. So yes these videos may be more for me than you guys (cheaper than therapy) but hopefully you’ll get a kick out of them and enjoy the conversation. Please take a second to watch (above or here) and let me know what you think… especially my #Team1983 or #Team1982 or #Team1981 or hell even #TeamBeenThereDoneThatICanTeachYouAfFewThings

Don’t worry the DIY videos aren’t going anywhere. I’ll continue to upload them weekly to the channel as well (they’re my other for of therapy). Please subscribe to my channel and share the love! xoxoxo

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Cap DIYBirthday cake wall!!! Cake! Cake! Cake! Cake!

Glitter N Glue Glitter Letter Cap DIY FULLVintage Jacket | Target White Top | Torrid Jeans (DIYed into shorts) | JustFab Bag | Sole Society Heels

{Thanks Adam for thuggin’ it out in an alley with me on a hot afternoon and taking my pics!}

8 responses

  1. Cute idea! Love your shoes too!

    July 9, 2013 at 12:35 am

  2. I love your blog!

    July 9, 2013 at 2:35 am

  3. Thats so cool, Love the idea & the cupcakes filled wall is so cute..haha

    July 9, 2013 at 2:37 am

  4. Thats so cute and I love your shoes

    July 9, 2013 at 3:07 am

  5. Fallon Carmichael

    I love this video! Just found your blog… your hilarious! Very entertaining to watch. Keep it up and congrats on the the big 30. They say life starts at 30, so imagine if it has been this good to you so far… just think wow, wonder whats next!

    …on another note, I turn 30 next year… I can’t wait!

    and the things I am thankful for are my amazing job as Director at Michael Kors, 7 fabulous years in NYC going strong (Im from CA), starting my new blog, and my amazing boyfriend. We just moved in together into a FAB apartment where I feel kinda like a rock star 😉 lol

    ps. LOVVVEE the cupcake wall! Must take pics there when I’m in LA!

    July 9, 2013 at 3:35 am

  6. Cute hat. I turned 40 last month. Wow, 30 seems so long ago now. 🙂 Offer some words of wisdom on my latest post “putting .on my big girl pants” check me out

    July 9, 2013 at 8:18 am

  7. LOVE this and that jacket is fierce!

    July 9, 2013 at 2:55 pm

  8. I love that you’ve created a weekly show…can’t wait! And I used to love “Clarissa Explains it All”—that was my show! Anywho, lol, great sequin blazer too.

    ~Whitney
    http://www.whitneynicjames.com

    July 10, 2013 at 5:45 am

Leave a Reply

