DIY: Lucite And Neon Knotted Necklace

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Lucite And Neon Necklace Last weekend I attended the Lucky FABB cocktail party. While I was chatting with a friend a uber fashionable blogger walked by wearing a fab lucite and neon orange tread necklace. Before I had a chance to ask her where it was from or get my camera out to snap a pic, she was gone. In other news, I’d make the worst paparazzi EVER!

I’ve been seeing these type necklaces pop up all over the place lately. While I may not have been able to get any details about her necklace, I just knew I’d have to make one of my very own.

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Lucite And Neon Necklace  MATERIALSMaterials: Lucite Beads, Neon Thread, A Needle

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Lucite And Neon Necklace NEEDLEThread your neon thread on your needle

TIP: Lucite beads can be purchased at your local bead store. However, I used the beads from an H&M necklace I’d purchased a few months back. #MakeItWork

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Lucite And Neon Necklace KNOTDouble knot your thread 3-4 inches from the end and start threading.

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Lucite And Neon Necklace THREADPlace our beads onto your thread, knotting the thread between each bead.

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Lucite And Neon Necklace DOUBLE KNOTFinish your necklace off by double knotting the end. To wear, tie the necklace around your neck.

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Lucite And Neon Necklace DETAIL

20 responses

  1. So cute!

    http://www.mariacroqueta.blogspot.com.ar

    April 9, 2013 at 8:10 am

  2. Robin

    I am loving this idea! I have questions tho’! What kind of thread did you use? Do you have any advice on how to get the knots really close to the bead? That seems to be my problem all the time!

    April 9, 2013 at 8:11 am

    • The thread I found was more like a cord. They had it at my local fabric store. I was lucky enough to find it so thin that it fit through the hole in my bead. Knotting can be a problem.I just tried to tie the knot a the top of the bead. I used my thump to move it down if I needed to before I made it tight. I can be tricky but you just have to keep at it. Good luck!

      April 9, 2013 at 8:15 am

  3. Your DIY’s inspire me to start making more things instead of going out and buying it. Thanks!

    April 9, 2013 at 8:43 am

    • YEA!!!! I’m so glad!!!! And this one is so easy. Plus since I reworked an old necklace the only thing I had to purchase was the thread. Which means a new neckalce for $1.20!!! xoxo

      April 9, 2013 at 8:45 am

  4. Kasey Blaustein

    sick.

    On Tue, Apr 9, 2013 at 7:51 AM, WordPress.com

    April 9, 2013 at 9:47 am

  5. This looks awesome, Kristen!!

    April 9, 2013 at 10:14 am

  6. Love the contrast between the Lucite beads and the bright neon string!

    April 9, 2013 at 10:25 am

  7. whoisthatgirlmo

    Hey girl Hey!

    Great Diy as usual. This one seems pretty easy. Would embroidery thread work?

    Mo

    April 9, 2013 at 10:40 am

    • Heeeeeeey! I think embroidery thread is a great idea!!! I actually found some gold metallic thread I was thinking about using, but opted for the neon instead. Just be sure you use a few pieces of thread so that your necklace is strong enough to support the weight of your beads. Send me a pic after you make it! I want to see!!! xoxo

      April 9, 2013 at 11:01 am

  8. This is so cute!

    -mydogblog09

    http://mylifethroughtheeyesoftheweb.wordpress.com

    April 9, 2013 at 10:57 am

  9. Wow, brilliant way to brighten up a plain necklace.
    Lauren
    livinginaboxx

    April 9, 2013 at 2:46 pm

  10. Big Tall Tales

    Brilliant idea! And great idea to recycle an old necklace. Love it πŸ™‚

    April 9, 2013 at 2:58 pm

  11. Reblogged this on CARIBBEAN VIBE – Blog.

    April 9, 2013 at 4:05 pm

  12. This is so cute! I want to do this with a mint colored thread :)!!

    April 9, 2013 at 4:41 pm

  13. toooooo cute..lovely!!

    April 10, 2013 at 1:48 am

  14. Rae

    Love it!!!! Def going to make one!!!

    April 10, 2013 at 5:53 am

  15. Rae

    Love it!!!! Def going to make one!!!

    April 10, 2013 at 5:53 am

  16. Sarah

    (Roughly) how big are your beads? In mm….

    Thanks! Great idea!

    April 10, 2013 at 10:26 am

  17. Pingback: Hacer collares muy fΓ‘ciles

Leave a Reply

