DIY: Framed Fabric Inspiration Board

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration BoardDon’t get me wrong Pinterest is a good time, but my inner magazine junkie gets a real thrill from physically ripping out those glossie pages and pinning them on a real life inspiration board. I like having a board in my work space that is bright, colorful and inspires me to be creative. Obviously a regular ole cork bulletin board just won’t do! This floral fabric covered frame board is just want I needed to decorate my space. And the best part is that it doubles as wall art!

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board MATERIALSMaterials: A Frame, Fabric, Paint, Cardboard, Scissors, Stapler

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board  PAINTApply a coat of paint to touch up or change the color of your frame

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board TRACETrace the back of your frame onto cardboard and use scissors to cut out your shape

Note: I used a cardboard display board as my base. It reminded me of my 4th grade Science project!

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board  STAPLECover the cardboard with your favorite fabric, pulling it as tight as possible and stapling it to the backside

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board FRAMEDPlace the fabric covered board in the frame and hang it on the wall.

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board PINSUse metallic pins to dress up your inspiration board

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board COLLAGEReal life pinning!

Glitter 'N Glue DIY Framed Fabric Inspiration Board EARRINGSEarring studs also make glamorous pins

28 responses

  1. Looks sO lovely

    March 26, 2013 at 12:17 am

  2. I just love the floral fabric, the frame and how lovely it looks on your mint green wall. Great idea, Kristen!!

    March 26, 2013 at 12:47 am

  3. I just love the floral fabric, the frame and how lovely it looks on your mint green wall. Great idea, Kristen!!

    March 26, 2013 at 12:47 am

  4. Nice idea darling!!! I cannot wait to see next post! ❤

    March 26, 2013 at 12:58 am

  5. Love it!!!!

    March 26, 2013 at 1:01 am

  6. Awesome!! I must try this..!!

    March 26, 2013 at 2:41 am

  7. I love the earrings as drawing pins! That’s a great idea. And I love your blog, it’s so good! x

    March 26, 2013 at 3:37 am

  8. Love It 🙂 🙂 I always make these 🙂 so much fun 🙂

    March 26, 2013 at 3:40 am

  9. This is so AWESOME! I’m the same – pinterest is addictive but I still buy magazines and rip pictures out to have around me. I am so going to make one of these! Better than pinning on the wallpaper :-$

    ♥ Paula Shoe Fiend.
    http://shoe-fiend.blogspot.co.uk/

    March 26, 2013 at 5:51 am

  10. This is awesome!! Such a beautiful idea. 👍👍Two thumbs up!

    March 26, 2013 at 7:44 am

  11. Love that fabric! That board is certain to inspire anyone who looks at it!

    March 26, 2013 at 9:12 am

  12. whoisthatgirlmo

    This is a cool idea! Love the floral fabric. 🙂

    Mo

    March 26, 2013 at 9:40 am

  13. this is such a good idea!!
    xo,
    nancy

    March 26, 2013 at 11:44 am

  14. Pretty and super functional!!

    ~Whitney

    March 26, 2013 at 4:39 pm

  15. Reblogged this on dash of stardust and commented:
    love this idea, have so many cut outs from magazines, now I have somewhere to put them!

    March 27, 2013 at 10:31 am

  16. Absolutely love this!!! 🙂 ♥
    XO Jessi

    March 27, 2013 at 11:11 am

  17. Another great idea is to cover a metal piece with fabric instead of cardboard. Then you can use cute magnets to hang your pictures! 🙂

    March 27, 2013 at 7:35 pm

  18. Love it. Doing it. And I agree, I like real life inspiration boards. (I like Pinterest too, but it’s a different feeling)

    March 27, 2013 at 9:45 pm

  19. This is such a good idea! Definitely going to attempt to do this!

    March 28, 2013 at 3:20 am

  20. Great idea! I’ll probably make one 🙂

    March 28, 2013 at 10:00 am

  21. Reblogged this on penelopescarlet's Blog.

    March 30, 2013 at 7:12 pm

  22. Can’t wait to try this ourselves!

    April 2, 2013 at 5:07 am

  23. This is gorgeous! I have a plain cork board and this has given me a million ideas.

    April 3, 2013 at 6:34 pm

  24. Kristen, I absolutely love your projects and posts. I pin most everything you do, and those pins are nearly always my most re-pinned items of the week. Keep up the good work.

    April 14, 2013 at 9:59 am

    • Awww you have no idea how happy this makes me 🙂 Thank you so much for the support and for reading the blog!!!! xoxoxo

      April 15, 2013 at 8:43 am

  25. Reblogged this on maybeifwecanjustlaugh and commented:
    Cool idea to spice up your room in a small way but one that doesn’t break the bank.

    I’ve been wanting to try out the ‘vision board idea’ that’s been extremely popular with the youtube community . Not only is it a place that inspires you but it’s also a small project to get your hands into. Who doesn’t want little projects here and there to put off the extreme mundanity of life’s daily rituals? 😉

    All you need to make this fabulous ‘vision board’ are 6 items:
    A frame
    Your choice of fabric
    Paint (if u wish to change the colour of the frame)
    Scissors
    A stapler
    Cardboard

    How easy!! And it’s entirely customizable right down to the last detail! Definitely gonna try this out soon and you guys should too! x

    April 15, 2013 at 2:12 am

  26. Pingback: Weekend To-Do | Queen of the Quarter Life Crisis

  27. Pingback: Boat People Vintage - DIY style & art de vivre

Leave a Reply

