DIY: Metallic Wood Hangers

Glitter N Glue DIY Spray Paint Metallic Wood HangersSpring is almost here and thus Spring cleaning has begun. First up… my closet! One cannot begin the process of purchasing a new Spring wardrobe until you figure out what you have, what you need, what fits and well.. what doesn’t. While organizing, I felt now is the best time to also give the hangers in my closet a makeover. One key to an organized closet is uniformed hangers. A coat of metallic silver spray paint is sure to give my closet the most glam Spring cleaning yet!

Glitter N Glue DIY Spray Paint Metallic Wood Hangers MATERIALSMaterials:Β Wood Hangers, Metallic Spray Paint, Painters Tape

Glitter N Glue DIY Spray Paint Metallic Wood Hangers CONTAINER STOREI scooped up these hangers from The Container Store (pack of 6 for $8).

Glitter N Glue DIY Spray Paint Metallic Wood Hangers TAPEUse painters tape to cover the metal hook

Glitter N Glue DIY Spray Paint Metallic Wood Hangers SPRAYSpray!!! Be sure to cover the hanger from all angles. One coat of paint should be sufficient.

Glitter N Glue DIY Spray Paint Metallic Wood Hangers DRYAllow at least one hour to make sure the paint is completely dry

Glitter N Glue DIY Spray Paint Metallic Wood Hangers HANGThis quick and easy transformation really turns my boring hangers into fun display pieces. My closet now feels like a fancy boutique.

There are so many makeover options for your wood hangers. You could paint them neon, decoupage them, gold leaf them (ummmm hello Krylon gold leafing pen!) or wrap them in colorful thread, and on and on. Check out my Pinterest pinspiration board (here) for more fun DIY ideas.

24 responses

  1. kay

    I might have to give that a try but with random colours great idea

    March 12, 2013 at 9:19 am

    • YES! I love the random colors idea. I think I’ll give those a try later in the Summer/ Fall. The great thing about the silver is that I can paint over ’em when I’m ready for a new look!!! xo

      March 12, 2013 at 9:22 am

  2. WOW. This is amazing! I would never think to do something like this, it looks so cool! I only have plastic hangers though-.-
    http://www.labelle1.wordpress.com

    March 12, 2013 at 9:44 am

  3. Mo

    This is a creative idea. I would have to get some wooden hangers first. I like the above suggestion of different color hangers. It can be sorted by piece; i.e blue for dresses.. πŸ™‚

    Mo

    March 12, 2013 at 10:16 am

    • color coordinated = pure brilliance!!!

      March 12, 2013 at 10:27 am

  4. iennhance

    This is a great idea! I’m definitely going to try it.

    March 12, 2013 at 10:26 am

  5. Awesome Idea! I’ll be moving soon and I’m over the moon with home DIY ideas. Thanks!

    March 12, 2013 at 11:09 am

  6. great idea c:

    March 12, 2013 at 11:24 am

  7. FABEEX

    ΠžΡ‚Π»ΠΈΡ‡Π½Π°Ρ идСя!
    Nice……

    March 12, 2013 at 4:28 pm

  8. sheishypoxicandlost

    You have great ideas, I like them!

    March 12, 2013 at 10:05 pm

  9. waoo, awesome!!

    March 13, 2013 at 5:16 am

  10. A.K.

    Looks easy, I should probably try this xx
    Anastassia http://creativerussia.wordpress.com/

    March 13, 2013 at 6:47 am

  11. I have a leftover can of metallic spray paint and a closet full of hangers!!! I am going to be getting crafty this week!

    A new post is up on Local & Opulent – Street Style, Love It or Hate It, the debate wages on.

    http://localandopulent.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/473/

    March 13, 2013 at 7:14 am

  12. I definitely want to do this! I have all of those soft, velvet hangers though. And I REALLY need to clean out my closet!

    xo
    Kara
    http://www.thebostonista.com

    March 13, 2013 at 10:17 am

  13. I LOVE this idea! I would do black for my wardrobe – but that’s just a personal predilection.

    β™₯ Paula Shoe Fiend.
    http://shoe-fiend.blogspot.co.uk/

    March 13, 2013 at 11:56 am

  14. This looks amazing!
    I hate that I just bought plastic hangers this would have looked amazing in my room

    March 14, 2013 at 4:01 pm

  15. That is such a great Idea πŸ™‚

    March 15, 2013 at 8:27 am

  16. Reblogged this on jocloseout.

    March 15, 2013 at 1:58 pm

  17. What a great way to hang beautiful clothing!

    March 17, 2013 at 4:09 pm

  18. So sleek! Nothing like fancy hangers to make your closet feel less out of control : )

    March 17, 2013 at 8:07 pm

  19. so nice!!!
    such a great idea…

    April 15, 2013 at 10:01 am

  20. And simple too!

    April 15, 2013 at 10:03 am

  21. Pingback: 5 DIYs You Can Do With a Can of Spray Paint

Leave a Reply

