DIY: Metallic Skinny Belt + How I Wore It

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALooks like I’m going through a belt phase. There was the embellished belt, then the feather peplum belt and now…the metallic skinny belt. I’ve been eying this skinny metal belt for the past few season but when I saw Tina Fey looking va-va-voom on the SAG awards red carpet this weekend I knew I had to do it! The skinny metallic belt has be a hit on the red carpet this award season. Both Jennifer Lawrence and Marion Cotillard rocked the trend at the Golden Globes. This project is easy, breezy and I’m excited to add this new belt to my collection.

DIY: Glitter N Glue Skinny Metal Metallic Belt Materials: Brass Plate*, Two Yards of Ribbon, Glue

*I used a K&S Engineering brass plate for this project. Click here for a list of retailers. I made my purchase at my local hardware store. They come in different widths and lengths. Be sure to purchases the smallest width they have. You want the plate to be flexible so that it bends around your waist. The sales associate at the hardware store explained to me that these plates are used for many different projects. He then asked me what I was planning to use it for. I wish I’d had my phone out so I could have snap a photo of the face he made when I told him I was using the plate to making a belt. It was Instagramable! O_o

Tip: The edges aren’t sharp, but if you’re nervous dull down the edges with sandpaper. 

DIY: Glitter N Glue Skinny Metal Metallic Belt GLUE Apply a generous amount of glue to your ribbon

DIY: Glitter N Glue Skinny Metal Metallic Belt Allow some time for your glue to dry. If needed, use clips to hold your ribbon in place while it dries.

DIY: Glitter N Glue Skinny Metal Metallic Belt It’s the perfect statement!

DIY: Glitter N Glue Skinny Metal Metallic Belt Tie a nice, pretty bow in the back for closure.

DIY: Glitter N Glue Skinny Metal Metallic Belt

DIY: Glitter N Glue Skinny Metal Metallic Belt Dress: Bar III | Shoes: Chinese Laundry

21 responses

  1. Cat in my Bag

    Wow, I don’t usually DIY but I think I’ll have to give this a go. Looks fantastic! Love that you can tie it at the back too. xo

    January 29, 2013 at 12:19 am

  2. Love it!

    January 29, 2013 at 1:27 am

  3. aimeestgermain

    This is a super-cute look! My only thought is that the metal corners at the back/tie might pinch. Any suggestions on chamfering or rounding the corners?

    January 29, 2013 at 4:45 am

  4. Bianca Sorana

    Great idea!!!

    https://thecharmoflife.wordpress.com/

    January 29, 2013 at 5:00 am

  5. the metal is perfect as a skinny belt– looks so good!

    January 29, 2013 at 5:04 am

  6. I made for my friend as a birthday present and she LOVED it!

    January 29, 2013 at 7:37 am

  7. This is awesome. I’ve had one of these on my wishlist too.

    January 29, 2013 at 7:41 am

  8. This is such a great idea!

    ~Sherine
    Confessions Of A City Girl / Check out my eyewear line Enerjiee

    January 29, 2013 at 8:37 am

  9. Fantastic!!!!

    January 29, 2013 at 10:05 am

  10. I’m looking for something to go with one of my fashion week looks, so this is an awesome DIY to through in the mix. Thanks!! ❤

    January 29, 2013 at 11:31 am

  11. This was for sure one of my favorites! I would like to place an order please 🙂

    January 29, 2013 at 2:40 pm

  12. I love it!! What an awesome idea. it looks great!

    January 29, 2013 at 4:55 pm

  13. soo gonna have to try this
    love the dress also

    January 29, 2013 at 10:29 pm

  14. Genae

    Oh Im so trying this!

    January 30, 2013 at 5:38 am

  15. Justin Gilbert

    So simple! This is great. Keep up the awesome work!

    January 30, 2013 at 1:28 pm

  16. Kimbrya

    hello I so love this diy (My favorite one) I would like to know can you please tell me the width of the brass plate? thank you 🙂

    February 1, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    • Hi! So glad you like it. I believe my belt was about half an inch wide and about a yard long. I hope that helps! xo

      February 4, 2013 at 9:06 am

  17. L'Iconoclaste

    Great idea and you look cute as hell, love the dress !
    Following you 😉

    http://www.l-iconoclaste.net

    February 8, 2013 at 6:39 pm

  18. Pingback: Weekly Top 5 / Twistband Blog

  19. Pingback: DIY Metal Hardware Combat Boots | Lauren Mechelle

Leave a Reply

