DIY: Embellished Ankle Straps… Part 2

Do you guys remember my DIY embellished ankle straps project part 1 (here)? I love a good ankle strap makeover.Β  Sometimes a DIY quickie can make a huge difference. I wanted to add a little glam to my Chinese Laundry Zsa Zsa pumps so I swapped the ankle straps out for bracelets. Say what?!?!?!?! I know… who says bracelets just have to be worn around your wrist?

Here I am striking a pose in my embellished pumps on Lee Circle in New Orleans. WERK!!!!

These Chinese Laundry Zsa Zsa ankle straps are on sale (here)!!!!

Bracelets with lobster claw clasp work best. I picked up these at H&M for $6. If the bracelets are too small to fit comfortably around your ankle, use a few jump rings as extenders to give yourself a little more wiggle room.

More photos of my trip to New Orleans after then break…

Last week I made the trip down to New Orleans to partake in the NOLA Fashion Week festivities. While in town, I hosted a DIY party at Hattie Sparks.

Store owner, Hattie Moll and I are denim divas in our matching chambray shirt. Clearly, fashionable minds think alike!

We spent the afternoon making rhinestone wrap bracelets and shopping. It was a wonderful way to kick off New Orleans Fashion Week.

I spent the rest of the week taking in fashion shows, eating, touring the city and… eating!

I had an absolutely wonderful time in the Crescent City. There is so much creativity and talent in New Orleans and I can’t wait to see the growth of the designers that showed during the week. Keep your eyes peeled to the New Orleans Fashion Council and NOLA Fashion Week because great things are coming!

And if you haven’t made your way down to the great city of New Orleans… book your ticket now! Seriously what are you waiting for?!? The city if full of culture and fun. There’s so much to see and do. Believe me I lived there for 4 years during college and going back is like going home. It will be a vacation you’ll never forget.

30 responses

  1. cute shoes made even cuter with your ankle straps!

    October 16, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    • Thanks! And you gotta love that those Chinese Laundry platforms are on sale!!!!

      October 17, 2012 at 10:05 am

  2. fashionforlunch

    This looks so good and so expensive! So Chanel!!!!
    http://fashionforlunch.wordpress.com/

    October 16, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    • I know! That’s why I feel in love with the bracelets. It’s like Chanel with an edge!!! xoxo

      October 17, 2012 at 10:06 am

  3. Nora

    Love it!!

    October 16, 2012 at 7:29 pm

  4. MAC

    Very cute upgrade!

    October 16, 2012 at 7:38 pm

  5. JUANITA

    VERY NICE!

    October 17, 2012 at 1:36 am

  6. Good idea! πŸ™‚
    Cecilia

    October 17, 2012 at 3:20 am

  7. Very cute!!!

    October 17, 2012 at 5:26 am

  8. Nancy

    Such a great idea and it looks so glam

    October 17, 2012 at 6:38 am

  9. Super fabulous!!!

    October 17, 2012 at 6:45 am

  10. Kristen; I’ve got an adorable pair of heels that are just a teensy bit too big, and I want to add an ankle strap to them to make ’em stay on better. Do you have any suggestions?

    October 17, 2012 at 10:07 am

  11. I like!!!!!!

    October 17, 2012 at 2:07 pm

  12. alpakaclothing

    very nice…

    October 17, 2012 at 8:26 pm

  13. roy

    so cute!

    October 18, 2012 at 10:05 am

  14. Sarah

    Love this idea! I have the same pumps in cobalt! I may just have to try this!

    October 18, 2012 at 10:59 am

  15. Reblogged this on Adora Stylez: Fashion, Beauty, Shopping and commented:
    Love it! Check out this DIY diva’s ankle strap makeover!!

    October 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  16. Reblogged this on Courtney McGill.

    October 22, 2012 at 7:58 am

  17. Really great DIY! I will try it using three black rocailles bracelets for each ankle. I hope, it works… πŸ™‚
    lg, lici

    October 22, 2012 at 8:55 am

    • I’m sure it will! Tweet me a pic (@Glitter_N_Glue) I want to see!!!!!

      October 22, 2012 at 5:37 pm

  18. It looks like you had an amazing trip! The ankle straps are stunning. What a great idea!

    October 23, 2012 at 3:38 pm

  19. wow sooo creativ
    http://www.facebook.com/dhaliathequeen

    October 23, 2012 at 6:54 pm

  20. Abrielle Valencia

    I love this! You gave me a great idea! Thanks for posting!

    October 30, 2012 at 5:47 pm

  21. Love the shoes…very cute

    October 31, 2012 at 12:03 pm

  22. This is such a great idea! Love that it’s so customizable!

    November 10, 2012 at 6:11 am

  23. Rachael B

    Where did you get that skirt? I’m madly in love with it and the pairing with a simple tank and heels – adore it all!!!

    November 28, 2012 at 11:34 am

  24. Linda

    Gorgeous ankle straps! I don’t know how you can walk around NO in heels!!! That’s an awful lot of walking to do there! My favorite city!! Been there several times & was just there in April (2012).

    December 5, 2012 at 4:01 pm

  25. Pingback: Favorite Shoe DIYs | The Colorful Life of a Shoeaholic

  26. Pingback: Vision Boards + Scotland + Your Chance To Win, Obviously! |

Leave a Reply

