PSA: Just Say No…To Photoshopping!

What were you doing at the age of 14? I spent most of my time begging my Mom to drive me to the mall so I could hang out with my friends. I was lame, but at the age of 14 Julia Bluhm is taking on the fashion industry one signature at a time. Julia collected of 84,000 signatures from around the world and delivered a petition to Seventeen magazine forcing them to change their practices on photoshopping. (read the entire article here).

Let’s be honest we all have a little something, something we wish would go away. Photoshop makes it easy to erase our insecurities. Sometimes I think my thighs are a little thick, my arms may be a little flabby and sometimes I get a little double chin action in photos, but hey that’s me! I’m so honored to have been ask to team up with Feel More Better to help support their “Not Photoshopped” Campaign. I hope that through my blog I promote a positive body image. No I’m not a size 2 and yes there are parts of my body I wish I could change, but instead of photoshopping my problems away I vow to get outside, get active and sweat (yes sweat) it away! No girl should go hungry or be unhealty in the hopes of chasing a photshopped and often unachievable goal of beauty. We’re all beautiful no matter your size, shape or color.

Feel More Better has also invited 50 other bloggers (including my LA friends Queen of the Quarter Life Crisis, The Curvy Fashionista and Sydne Style) have also joined the “Not Photoshopped” campaign. You can view all the blogger rockin’ their tees on StyleCaster.com and you too can join in on the action! For any t-shirt purchased on Feel More Better.com, the organization will give a new book to an underprivileged girl.

Hello! you know your girl couldn’t rick a shirt with out giving it a little DIY make over! #GlitterBomb

13 responses

  1. chiclittleblackdress

    This is such a positive message and I’m glad your apart of it !!!

    July 10, 2012 at 11:40 am

  2. Happy to be part of such a great campaign with you! Xo

    July 10, 2012 at 12:21 pm

  3. I read about her campaign a few days ago and it’s amazing what it has grown in to. This sends such a powerful message to the world. I applaud you for being part of it! 🙂

    July 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

  4. Great that you are helping to spread a positive message.

    July 10, 2012 at 1:34 pm

  5. Mykeshia

    Great message but the shirts are $75. That is a bit much. I was hoping that someone photo shopped that price.

    July 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

  6. great message. I love the shirt by the way!

    July 10, 2012 at 1:47 pm

  7. Great! Maybe I should make that t-shirt! Who wants to see photo shopped faces, when you can se real, beautiful and interesting non photo shopped faces?
    Good campaign!

    July 10, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  8. This is a great idea! I used to do retouching as part of my job, and I always found it so strange (and saddening) how many things I’d be asked to fix on people who were already practically perfect looking.

    July 10, 2012 at 7:42 pm

  9. Margie

    You totally rock.

    July 12, 2012 at 9:46 am

  10. What an awesome message to send! I’m not really good enough at photoshop to really be able to erase body flaws, but I’ve definitely wished for it once or twice. But, like you said, it is important to do something about things that bother us, rather than just trying to erase them!

    July 15, 2012 at 2:27 pm

  11. awesome message, photo shopped faces only gives away fake faces.

    July 19, 2012 at 2:45 am

  12. Reblogged this on Flying cows and gangnam style dinosaurs and commented:
    You should read this. Really inspiring 🙂

    August 9, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  13. Pingback: NOT PHOTOSHOPPED |

Leave a Reply

