DIY Quick Tip: Peplum Princess

Emma Stone, Emma Watson, Michelle Williams

Peplum is currently a very popular red carpet trend. I know there are mixed emotions about the trend, but honestly I’m a fan! Yes, as a curvy girl I’m in full support of the peplum trend. I feel like I hear so many women say this trend doesn’t work for them, but I just have to disagree. I feel like peplum works well on most. Agree or disagree? It creates shape for those without and it lets the world see exactly what a curvy girl is working with! Holla!!!

Anywho, this dress is the inspiration behind this DIY project. I bought this dress last summer and only wore it once. It seems like every time I put it I ended up changing outfits. Something about it just didn’t fit me right, but I couldn’t bring myself to give it away. Maybe it’s because I like the print. Or maybe it’s because I only wore it once and had a hard time getting rid of something I spent money on but only wore once. Regardless, I was sick of looking at it just hanging in my closet. So I decided to cut off the bottom and turn this frumpy a-line dress into a sexy peplum top.

If you don’t have a dress hiding in your closet, here are a few other examples (clockwise R to L) fromΒ  Urban Outfitters, Forever 21, Asos and H&M of dresses that would be prefect for this project. Just a few examples to get those creative juices flowing.

I took my pair of scissors and started cutting 6 inches down from the waist band. Depending on the fabric, it’s not necessary to hem the ends. I personally love the deconstructed look and because of the way the peplum lays any imperfections in your cut become almost invisible.

To make sure I didn’t lose my waist, I accessorized my top with an embellished belt (…that I made of course! click here for that project) and a mini skirt. It’s important that when wearing a peplum top you keep your bottoms sleek. My suggestion is a fitted skirt or a pair of your favorite skinny jeans!

Awwww it feels good knowing that with the help of my scissors I gave this dress a second chance at life!

Peplum Top from Glitter ‘N Glue, Embellished Belt from Glitter ‘N Glue, Mini Skirt from H&M, Earrings from Crux NY, Shoes from Sole Society

11 responses

  1. What a great idea, I would have never thought to do that!! You did a great job…I love it πŸ™‚

    April 4, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  2. That’s genius… now where are my old dresses….

    April 4, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  3. nkirdizzle

    i am so in love with the peplum trend

    April 4, 2012 at 9:34 pm

  4. LOULOU

    You’re a fashion genius!! I’ve been dying to try this trend. I’m off to my local thrift store to find some pieces to give a glam over. Thanks a million.

    April 5, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  5. Ayanna

    I hope peplums are to here to stay they are so flattering. I bought all of this material to try to make a peplum shirt but you just made it easer for me!

    April 5, 2012 at 7:26 pm

  6. Stephanie

    Oh, that is too clever! love it!

    April 5, 2012 at 7:28 pm

  7. found your blog via pinterest, and just went through your last couple months of posts! I love it all!

    April 6, 2012 at 6:30 pm

  8. punkglamqueen

    I just found your blog, what a great DIY, it looks so lovely on you! Is there enough leftover fabric to make an accessory to go with it, like maybe a wrap since its a halter? Oo or maybe a little shrug? A little correction though, originally the dress was not an A-line dress. A-line dresses actually look like an “A” when laid flat, and wouldn’t work for a peplum as you need a fitted waist such as yours to create the flare of the peplum. Thanks for the great idea! XXX Suzanne

    April 13, 2012 at 10:48 pm

  9. Pingback: Rain drops on roses, whiskers on kittens… « Un petit gout de reviens-y

  10. Pingback: EM VOGUE: Peplum «

  11. This is ingenious!!! What a quick way to get a peplum top!

    November 15, 2012 at 7:02 am

Leave a Reply

