Floss Angeles: DIY Terrarium Tutorial At West Elm

What’s the first thing you want to do after getting a fresh mani…go play in the dirt! Obviously I’m hitting ya’ll with a bit of sarcasm, but that’s exactly what I did this weekend. This past Saturday, the West Elm store on Beverly Blvd hosted Rolling Greens Nursery for a day of terrarium making.

It might just be me, but I feel like the terrarium craze has taken over my DIY decor life! Everywhere I look I see creative terrariums and over the past few months I’ve become obsessed with terrariums. Plus, let’s be honest…a terrarium is probably the ONLY chance I have of keeping something green in my house without killing it.

If you’re not familiar, terrariums are a  transparent container in which plants are grown. They’re pretty easy to make…

Materials: recycled clear jars or vases • a small bag of sand or dirty • shells or pieces of driftwood • small air plants or succulents

Directions: 1. Pour a small amount of sand into the jar (this holds in moisture for your plant)/ 2. Decorate your mini-landscape with shells and driftwood (or I decorate mine with old earring for added bling)/ 3. Add the plants. (source Elle Decor)

There are also plenty of terrarium how to kits available online that come prepackaged. However, if you live in the LA area and have free time Rolling Greens Nursery will be hosting how to classes March 31st for $25. Give their Hollywood store a call (323.934.4500) for more details.

4 responses

  1. I have been wanting to make a project like this for a long time…thanks for the tutorial!

    March 27, 2012 at 5:46 am

  2. Vivian Rosa Storti

    I just met your blog and I’m already loving it!!!
    You do a great job, and now I have some beautiful things to do, thanks for your tips!
    Vivian – Brasil

    March 27, 2012 at 8:44 am

  3. At the very least one should also use activated charcoal which filters the water (like brita filters for people), larger pebbles, and even some sphagnum moss. I have never heard of succulents or air plants doing well with these things.

    Here is a better tutorial: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-make-a-terrarium-139860

    March 27, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    • Cool. Thanks for sharing, Lindsey!

      March 27, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Leave a Reply

