GIVEAWAY: Martha Stewart Crafts DIY Clay Branch Necklace In Honor Of National Craft Month

Branch necklaces via AurΓ©lie Bidermann, Max & Chloe and Max & Chloe

Did you know this month was Nation Craft Month?I know! I was thinking the same thing…Why isn’t this a National Holiday? Why didn’t we shut down schools and close banks and the post office in honor of National Craft Month? Well don’t worry, I’ve done my part in celebrating the month that honors creativity. I’ve been a very busy and crafty DIY bee all month.

Those of you who follow me on Twitter and Facebook know I attended the Craft and Hobby Association Convention earlier in the year. I love attending CHA because it’s the one time of the year I get to see all the new DIY products that will soon hit the shelves. I always leave the convention inspired and full of DIY ideas. This DIY tutorial is inspired by products I discovered at this years Craft and Hobby Association Convention.

Martha Stewart Crafts always delivers some new fun and innovative products. They recently developed a crafter’s clay that caught my attention. The Martha Stewart Craft’s Clay comes in an easy to use starter kit with 5 different color clay and all the materials you need to help you get started. They even provide 4 silicone molds to help you create shapes. I used the branch mold to create my Max & Chloe inspired branch necklace.

Allow the clay to dry in the open air at least 24 hours. While the clay is drying crate holes with toothpicks so that you can add the chain to the branch once it’s dry.

Another discovery from CHA was the Martha Stewart Liquid Gilding Paint (manufactured by Plaid Crafts) . Seriously, I’m so obsessed! You guys know how much I love metallics and with metallics being such a big trend in fashion this season this product is the perfect addition to your DIY kit.

Think how easy my past metallic DIY projects like the gold cap toe pumps and the iphone case will be with the gold liquid gilding paint.

I know it’s hard to see the necklace in this picture, but I wanted a chance to show off my $750 Milly dress I picked up on sale from Bloomy’s for $150! Gotta love a good sale!!!

Here’s a better shot of my clay necklace πŸ˜‰ I simple added jump rings through the holes I created in the branch and connected the chain to it. Literally just that simple! Add lobster claws clasp to the back of the necklace for a simple closure.

Now you know a National Craft Month celebration isn’t a party without a giveaway, right?!?!?!?! Well the lovely folks at Plaid Crafts would like to give one luck Glitter ‘N Glue the liquid gilding paint in gold… silver… AND rose gold! That’s right! You can win a supply of the Martha Stewart Liquid Gilding paint in every color they make. To enter simply leave a note in the comment section below letting me know:

Q: What’s the favorite craft/ DIY project you’ve ever made?

I want to read all about your most creative projects. And for those of you who are new to the DIY world let me know what project you are most looking forward to crafting in the future. Leave your answer below. I can’t wait to hear. Contest ends at 11:59pm pst on Sunday March 25th and with the help of a fancy number generating system, a number will be selected. If your answer falls in the comment box that corresponds with the selected number…you win the Martha Stewart Liquid Gilding Collection courtesy of Plaid Crafts.

PS: Special thank you to Danielle from Queens aka The Style N Beauty Doctor who helped me with my eye make up. I’ve never been good at applying eyeliner but thanks to her and her eyeliner 101 tutorial now I’m a pro!

UPDATE: The winning number was 13. Thanks for all who participated. My readers are SO creative!

65 responses

  1. Liz

    Diy’ed some coloblock mary janes!

    March 21, 2012 at 11:04 am

  2. xoxoxlittlej

    I love making my own wrap bracelets. I can never buy bracelets at stores because my wrists are too small. & I love being able to pick the colors/beads/charms to make a completely unique piece. So customizing my own really helps my outfit have the finishing touch.

    March 21, 2012 at 11:05 am

  3. I loved this craft! the branch necklace has been on my list for a while and now I know how to make one! BYW you look gorgeous with your dress, what a great purchase!

    xoxo Julieta

    March 21, 2012 at 11:07 am

  4. I forgot to tell you about my favorite DIY project for the giveaway, I think that is the one I just post on my blog, a pixeled jeweled necklace http://www.vjuliet.com/2012/03/diy-pixels-necklace.html

    March 21, 2012 at 11:10 am

  5. rebecca

    well, making flowers is so easy and fun. i love giving them out as gifts and its rewarding to see people wearing them. but my favorite for myself has to be a geode bracelet that i made for myself. i feel so fancy everytime i wear it!
    rwvanvoorhis at gmail dot com

    March 21, 2012 at 11:16 am

  6. Danae

    My fave DIY project i ever made was my studded jean vest πŸ™‚

    March 21, 2012 at 11:33 am

  7. I made some glitter heel booties following Kristina’s instructions on Pretty Shiny Sparkly and they came out amazing. I love this necklace and it seems pretty easy, even for a beginner!

    xoxo Tine
    chicflamingo.com

    March 21, 2012 at 11:39 am

  8. CM

    Working on a color floral backdrop for my room from scrapbook paper.

    March 21, 2012 at 11:45 am

  9. Porscha

    As a Jewelry lover and a DIY newbie, I’m really looking forward to making the “grown-up” friendship bracelets. They’re so modern and fairly inexpensive to make. Once, I master a few different styles, I want to hold a DIY Craft party with some friends to get them to join the DIY movement too!

    March 21, 2012 at 11:57 am

  10. Evelyn

    Wow, the necklace is gorgeous! To be honest, I didnt even know such a thing existed!
    My project: I recently adopted two girls from Africa so my next project is custom DIY frames with their pictures in it. These frames will be huge and will hang in the living room.. I cant wait.

    March 21, 2012 at 12:17 pm

  11. I DIYd a suede chain bracelet! and I also made a really cute pom pom necklace!! Hope I win this giveaway!

    wtfwhatthefashion.blogspot.com/

    March 21, 2012 at 12:21 pm

  12. Gorgeous! I want to make my own sooo bad!

    My favorite DIY project was a bracelet that I made out of furniture trim, diamond chain and silver chain. I get tons of compliments about it! (gotta love that!)

    March 21, 2012 at 12:32 pm

  13. I hope the picture comes out, but my daughter and I made these bracelets for her blog, the RadHatter. We saw the original’s at Nordy’s for around $70 bucks, and made these for under $7.

    March 21, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    • Congrats! You’re the winner! I’ll email you with details on how to collect your Martha Stewart Paint. Thanks for entering!

      March 26, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      • Yeah!! OMG!! I was just counting down the list and saw my own picture!! Awesome! Thanks Kristen!! If you do get a chance, please check out my baby girl’s blog too!

        March 26, 2012 at 7:27 pm

  14. Here is the tutorial we made for the DIY cuff bracelets!!
    http://theradhatterie.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/diy-feather-cuff/

    March 21, 2012 at 12:44 pm

  15. Jessica Luchka

    I made a beadazzled strap for one of my purses which had broken πŸ™‚

    March 21, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  16. Monuel

    I just made my frist jean purse, not to shappy if I do say so my self., would love to win Martha stuff an y stuff . love her.

    March 21, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  17. My favorite project is definitely a floral clutch I made… I hand-sewed all of the flowers myself!!

    March 21, 2012 at 1:40 pm

  18. lauraahampton

    So, I am pretty new to the DIY world, I’m trying to become more creative because I’ve never had time for it in the past. The first thing I am doing is collaging over journals with pieces of material and buttons, or maps and ribbons, or whatever fits the person I am making it for’s personality.

    I love the necklace!

    March 21, 2012 at 1:47 pm

  19. I love a lot of the things I made but I think I am most proud of the bag I made by fusing plastic bags together. It was featured in Bust magazine.

    It was great to hear that others like me work.

    I posted the tutorial on craftster in 2007 http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=b7amcti5mukg1okako98j2eoo7&topic=187283.0

    March 21, 2012 at 1:56 pm

  20. snfowler

    Right now my favorite craft is cutting off the backs from paper brads and gluing an earring back for cute earrings. I made 7 pairs yesterday!

    March 21, 2012 at 2:05 pm

  21. Patti L

    Well, let’s see, I have DIYed a few things. I think my fav would be a necklace that I made from brass washers that my husband got for me from his work. I added some black beads and it came out great. A friend saw it and then my husband had to bring more washers home for her as well.

    March 21, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  22. Laurinda

    I think my favorite (right now, anyway) is a pair of shoe clips that started life as 2 sets of clip earring backs, with strings of beads & flowers, that clipped to the front & side of my shoes to dress them up for a wedding. SO complex & fun!

    March 21, 2012 at 2:42 pm

  23. wow wow wow your necklace is AMAZING. it does not look like just clay and paint.

    i am new to DIY-ing. i tend to start projects and then get distracted, so don’t finish too many. i have finished a few friendship bracelets! and i want to re-vamp some shoes w/ fresh paint! i love that you can add some paint to make them completely different

    and if i won this contest, WOO BOY so many of my shoes would work themselves into my lineup again!

    March 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm

  24. Recently, my boyfriend, his family and I went to the Grand Canyon. To thank them, I made a profile of the Grand Canyon using polymer clay glued that to a picture frame and put photos from the trip inside!

    March 21, 2012 at 4:40 pm

  25. Drew

    I once made a tree of life necklace, I think that’s my favorite DIY project!

    March 21, 2012 at 6:01 pm

  26. Arya

    I’ve never made anything DIY, but my friend made me this amazing gameboy pillow, hopefully that’s good enough

    March 21, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  27. jessminda

    hand-sewn felt reindeer ornaments for my sister and brother in law. they’re adorable!

    March 21, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  28. Rachel

    Right now I’m making a creme shift dress with pink lining and a pink peter pan collar. That’s definitely my favorite DIY yet.

    March 21, 2012 at 7:59 pm

  29. I really liked making a fabric strip hanging lamp that I saw here: http://abeautifulmess.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/10/diy-oversized-fabric-garland-chandelier.html

    I made a goth one using a fan cover, black, black cobweb fishnet and brown and black zebra print fabrics and purple halloween lights inside.. it looks like a goth jellyfish!

    March 21, 2012 at 8:31 pm

  30. It is a toss up for my favorite DIY project. I would have to say the headbands I made for my granddaughter. Surprisingly her favorite ended up being the super feminine one with ribbon roses on it. As well as a Shrink Plastic Mickey Mouse Christmas pendant. So easy I printed the graphic on frosted Shrink Plastic, cut it with my Cameo and shrunk it in the oven and sprinkled iridescent embossing powder while still warm. She loves the accessories that grandma makes her. Thanks for the chance to win the liquid gilding paints. I could have loads of fun making her more accessories.

    March 21, 2012 at 8:32 pm

  31. Cheryl B

    My favorite DIY so far was a group of afro silhouette paintings I did for my daughter’s room. Everyone loved them so much that people have suggested I make more to sell.

    By the way, great dress!!!

    March 21, 2012 at 8:43 pm

  32. mskristiina

    My favorite DIY project is a clutch I’m currently work on, it’s covered in chain fringe! I’m hoping to have a tutorial up by the end of the week.

    PS LOVE THIS NECKLACE!

    March 21, 2012 at 9:04 pm

  33. emily anne-marie

    i’d love to win one of these. the necklace is great!

    March 21, 2012 at 9:05 pm

  34. Favorite project ever? The DIY wallpaper I made by cutting out fabric birds and starching them to the wall. Took forever but so worth it! Up next? Chandelier for my living room!

    March 21, 2012 at 9:49 pm

  35. Rebekah

    Looking gorgeous as always Kris!
    The best thing I have ever made has to be this twine feather hair clip I made. I wear it constantly. I must make more!

    March 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm

  36. My favourite craft I’ve ever done would have to be all the bits and pieces I made for our wedding, specifically the signs my new husband and I made directing people to our wedding location.

    March 22, 2012 at 12:30 am

  37. Love your style!

    Usually a do jewelry for me…but my great project is in progress…turning my grandmother’s wedding dress into a day dress (because is to gorgeous to make it just an evening dress)…

    March 22, 2012 at 3:17 am

  38. I am pretty new to blogging but not to DIYing, been massacring my wardrobe for a while now πŸ™‚ My favourite DIY so far HAS to be my DIY Zara sequin clutch I take it out all the time! Check out the tutorial at theembellished.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/diy-gold-zara-sequin-clutch

    Susie X

    theembellished.blogspot.com

    March 22, 2012 at 3:35 am

  39. Heather

    so far, my favorite DIY has been the floral hair pins that i’ve been making ever since my hair started growing back after chemo. They are lovely, easy, and cheap!!

    March 22, 2012 at 4:41 am

  40. Jasmine

    The jewelry organizer from your website! Now my jewelry’s organized and awesomely displayed! Thanks!

    March 22, 2012 at 8:39 am

  41. Sarah

    Spring break is coming up and I’m dying to make some of those hardware store meets string neon bracelets!

    Also, one of my best friends is turning 21 soon and he’s also a huge science nerd, so I’m looking to get make some shot glasses out of miniature beakers for him. I’m so excited to DIY again!

    March 22, 2012 at 9:27 am

  42. Dion Chan

    My favorite one has got to be my current one. I’m putting silicone cream on skulls and ending them with a cherry for my tea part theme party. I’m a guy, but that doesn’t mean creativity can’t flow!

    March 22, 2012 at 9:29 am

  43. marie

    pretty awsome =]

    March 22, 2012 at 12:45 pm

  44. I made some watermark dyed T-shirts with my favorite song lyrics on them, they turned out so cute and they were super easy to make!

    March 22, 2012 at 5:03 pm

  45. My favorite craft has been my lego jewelry!

    As an 80s baby I have tubs and tubs of legos laying around so I starting playing around and making jewelry. You wouldn’t believe the compliments I’ve gotten! I’ve gotten so much that I actually opened a store on Etsy.com!

    Check some out if you’d like πŸ˜‰ http://www.etsy.com/listing/95794296/two-tone-lego-earring-studs-red-and

    March 23, 2012 at 6:59 am

  46. Kris

    I turned a hippopotamus figurine into a zombie hippo! Lots of fun and it came out great πŸ˜€

    March 23, 2012 at 10:36 am

  47. This is really cool! I think my favorite craft I’ve ever done is still in progress… I’m doing one of those neon crystal necklaces with nail polish and it looks AWESOME! I can’t wait until it’s done so I can blog about it πŸ™‚
    PS your blog is fantabulous and I love everything that you make πŸ™‚

    March 23, 2012 at 12:36 pm

  48. i made a pair of earrings!

    March 23, 2012 at 12:52 pm

  49. I diy’d a lush-esque lip scrub!!! it works so well

    wtfwhatthefashion.blogspot.com/

    March 23, 2012 at 3:05 pm

  50. Ieva

    Hey! i don’t have a lot of DIYs, but i adore my new maxi skirt, which I sewed yesterday. And i really want to do some neon bracelets, dyed clothes or redo some old clothes ! πŸ™‚

    March 24, 2012 at 12:11 am

  51. Krystal Duran

    My sis In law is getting married this summer, and we’ve had fun making flower pom poms and bright paper pin wheels! The wedding is in June, so I’m scouting out the perfect fabric for the beautiful wrap dress from a few weeks ago!

    March 24, 2012 at 7:59 am

  52. nickandmargaret

    Wow, you did an AMAZING job girl. I love the necklace and it goes with your dress perfectly–which may I also add is an unbelievable find. My favorite DIY was the cupcake stand I made with wooden medallions and dowels. πŸ™‚

    March 24, 2012 at 8:41 am

  53. Amazing job on the necklace, and it looks so good with your dress, which might I add is an even more unbelievable steal. My favorite DIY project was a cupcake stand I made with wooden dowels and medallions. πŸ™‚

    March 24, 2012 at 8:43 am

  54. Kelly W.

    I made myself a lovely garter belt without a pattern, It is made out of adorable creamy satin with tiny black polka dots and trimmed with black velvet ribbon. A perfectly placed small round black button in the middle and covering each of the clips is a tiny polka dot bow and more black ribbon. It looks fantastic with sheer black thigh highs.

    March 24, 2012 at 4:24 pm

  55. Ashley

    With the beautiful weather we are having in Ohio I am looking forward to tie dying this week! Love the necklace!!!

    March 24, 2012 at 4:56 pm

  56. Hsin Yee

    I love designing and making colourful boxes that I can put my gifts in for others!

    March 24, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  57. I DIY’d a monogrammed notebook and I love it!

    wtfwhatthefashion.blogspot.com/

    March 25, 2012 at 7:46 am

  58. Debbie

    My favorite DIY project is a t-shirt that I just sewed lace on the sides!

    March 25, 2012 at 6:31 pm

  59. Bee.Love

    Right now I’m working on doing me a button up color blocked shirt. I just purchased my shirt, and right now I’m looking for those sharpies! I’m really excited about my new project. I’ve been visiting a lot of DIY projects to use up my free time and this site is one of those sites that has inspired me. Thanks!

    March 25, 2012 at 6:55 pm

  60. sue

    I love the little felt business card holder I made recently. It has a button and hair stretchie closure. But what I use almost every day is the cut off hem of a men’s t-shirt. It is stretchie and makes a bracelet and a headband. So simple!

    March 25, 2012 at 7:20 pm

  61. Patty P.

    My favorite DIYs have been the brooch headband that you created and a tshirt with gold safety pins all over the shoulder area (as if it were a patch).

    Patty
    @pattyhatestwtr

    March 26, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  62. Celeste

    I made some Sabo Skirt inspired vintage, studded, high waisted shorts.
    Love them:)

    March 27, 2012 at 8:16 am

  63. Ashley

    I love this! How fragile is the branch once the clay is dry?

    April 11, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

