DIY For A Cause: Proactiv’s X-Out Anti Bullying DIY Challenge (…oh and Award Season Excitement)

Award season is finally here! LA is buzzing. It’s time for fancy dresses, lush accessories, gorgeous make up and perfect hair. I love this time of year. I love seeing what celebs wear on the red carpet… the good, the bad and the ugly. Being a stylist I know exactly what goes into picking the perfect dress to wear down the red carpet. A red carpet dress are photographed and seen by thousands, but then add the pressure of and award show like the caliber of The Golden Globes or The Oscars and trust me the pressure for perfection is on!

I was super excited when the fabulous people at Proactiv enlisted my assistance to help them promote their new product, X Out. They challenged me and other bloggers to DIY basic dress from American Apparel inspired by the products signature X. The second my dress arrived I thought the silhouette would make for a perfect red carpet dress. I was so excited to DIY this dress for my Golden Globes viewing party (and by viewing party I mean me sitting at home  in from on my computer, nibbling a bowl of popcorn and refreshing RedCarpetFashionAwards.com for the latest carpet pics while E!’s Live from the Red Carpet plays in the background)

After washing my dress and letting it dry, I pulled out a bottle of Rit Dye and dyed it black.

After the dye was dry I spray painted X’s on the dress in the desired pattern

I channeled by inner Banksy and became a graffitist in the name of fashion!

After the paint was dry, I used a little glitter ‘n glue to added a little shine to the X’s

Now my dress is full of sparkle and from a distance the X’s stand out on the dress like a star in the night’s sky.

Beyonce’s not the only one with a mean over the shoulder red carpet pose!

I paired my dress with my DIY metallic bangles. Inspired by Geneva’s neon cuff creation on her blog, A Pair & A Spare. It’s amazing how a can of spray paint can really transform your entire look.

 Here’s the  fun part (and the real reason I agreed to participate campaign)… X Out will be auctioning off my DIYed dress with 100% of the proceeds will go to Pacer’s National Bullying Prevention Center. Anti bullying is a cause that’s close to my heart. My one wish for the world is that we’d all learn to trueluy love and appreciate each other for our differences. Being different is what makes us all unique. Isn’t that part of the reason we all like to DIY? We like to stand out. We want to be individuals and that, in my opinion, should be celebrated! I’m excited to get behind those that support the anti bullying movement. I applaud Proactiv’s X-Out for taking a stand and helping to spread confidence and Xing out bullying (oh and also for making the most amazing make up wipe removers on the face of the earth). Kudos!

Stay tuned. I’ll post the link to the Ebay auction just as soon as it’s live. I hope you all will bid on my dress or on one of the other dressed DIYed by bloggers.

4 responses

  1. Gorgeous!!!!!!

    January 12, 2012 at 10:27 pm

  2. Vanita

    Great job, it look fabulous!

    Check out my blog.
    http://www.houseofavandan.blogspot.com

    January 13, 2012 at 10:47 am

  3. So glam!

    January 13, 2012 at 6:20 pm

  4. I wish I had the courage to try this on my dress. Haha! It’s beautiful, by the way 🙂

    January 13, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Leave a Reply

