DIY: Embellished Headband + Goody Hair Accessories Giveaway

Last month my friend Jenni from I Spy DIY was in town to host a DIY party at the Soho House LA. We had such a fantastic time making bold fashion accessories. Her technique for making tribal necklaces gave me the inspiration for embellishing headbands. I think embellished headbands make the perfect gift for that girlie girl on your Holiday list…

Materials: Headbands, Rhinestones, Embroidery Thread, Glue

Glue your rhinestones to your headband. Use a healthy amount of glue. The access glue with help in making sure the thread stays put nicely on the headband.

Dab a small amount of glue on one of the the inside ends of your headband. Start wrapping your thread around the end. The glue will secure it in place.

Continue to wrap your thread around the headband, weaving it in and out of the rhinestones. Should you decide to change colors, simply knot the two threads together. Be sure that the knot is hidden underneath the headband.

Voila!

From far away this headband reminds me of one of my fancy rhinestone covered friendship bracelets. I love this project because it really allows you be be creative. You can pick different colors and come up with your own pattern. It’s a fun gift for the right girl and it’s also lots of fun to make. As of today, I’ve given you 11 new DIY projects that hopefully inspired you to make some fun gifts. And with only one more day left to this gift guide I’d love to know…

Question: Have you gotten/made a gift for everyone on your list?

Have you finished all your shopping? Or do you still have more gifts to get? I’d love to know. Leave your answers below. Contest ends tonight at 9pm pst and with the help of a fancy number generating system, a number will be selected. If your answer falls in the comment box that corresponds with the selected number…you win a collection of hair accessories from Goody! Don’t worry if you don’t win today… there’s always tomorrow! Only one more new DIY project, a one more prize and one more chance to win.

Happy Holidays!

UPDATE: 14 was the randomly selected number!

Congrats Jennifer! You won the Goody Hair accessories!

54 responses

  1. i haven’t covered everyone on my list yet. i celebrate hanukkah so i have to decide who i want to cover like every day and who i’ll just give one or two things to.

    December 11, 2011 at 12:31 am

  2. pretty!!

    December 11, 2011 at 1:17 am

  3. Sarah

    I’ve got about half my list covered, but I think I have an idea of what to give (most) people already. I love DIY gifts!

    December 11, 2011 at 1:23 am

  4. Manda

    I suck I have done 0 Xmas shopping

    December 11, 2011 at 1:39 am

  5. Anna

    I still need a gift for my boyfriend, but I think I’ll make him a nice leather bracelet on my own 🙂 I love to create things 🙂

    December 11, 2011 at 3:38 am

  6. Jeannette Hernandez

    This year I was “late” finishing up. Usually, I’m done shopping by July, and making gifts by mid-October. I *just* finished up for this year last week, and am now wrapping everything!

    December 11, 2011 at 4:20 am

  7. This year I had 10 people to buy presents for. I made 9 of them. It’s a fabulous year for a DIY Christmas.

    December 11, 2011 at 5:12 am

  8. Katherine

    I love how you’ve done your hair! Care to share how you did it?

    I am ALMOST done shopping/making for everyone, I just need to finish up my mom (I do a stocking for her so it takes a while) and bake some goodies.

    December 11, 2011 at 5:25 am

  9. Laurinda

    I’m doing a combination of buying & DIYing. I’ve scaled way back this year though, because knitting is so time consuming!

    December 11, 2011 at 6:05 am

  10. Morgan

    I have everyne almost done, My sister I diyed some shirts for her and for my aunts i have t finish some flower pins, so all i now have to do is buy my moms gift!

    December 11, 2011 at 6:59 am

  11. Erica Floyd

    I finished all my shopping for this year, last year lol I like to be prepared 🙂

    December 11, 2011 at 7:14 am

  12. I haven’t finished buying gifts for everyone! So i might just use the DIY idea to finish off my list!! Thanks so much!

    December 11, 2011 at 8:04 am

  13. Karen

    I make hats from recycled sweaters, especially cashmere. A few years ago, I made my sis a scarf using several soft sweaters. This year, I’m whipping up a quick baby blanket from thrifted sweaters for my grandson. I’ve also refashioned thrifted sweaters, funky pillowcases and leather jackets into wearables too!

    December 11, 2011 at 8:11 am

  14. Jennifer P

    i am almost done. i am making more gifts this year thanks to websites like yours.

    December 11, 2011 at 8:18 am

    • Congrats! You’re today’s winner! I will email you regarding how to claim your prize.

      December 12, 2011 at 1:08 am

      • Jennifer P

        To quote Homer…”Woo Hoo!” Thank you so much.

        December 12, 2011 at 11:47 am

  15. Alisha

    i still need a few gifts…

    December 11, 2011 at 8:41 am

  16. I have my sister in law left! (she’s my secret santa this year) Hopefully I’ll get it done this week!
    Maca B.

    December 11, 2011 at 8:50 am

  17. Helene

    I love this headband – will definitely give this a try! I love to make sparkly jewelry, using gemstones & crystals. I often give my handmade pieces as gifts to friends and family. My daughter & I wear my practice pieces. Here are more of my pieces: http://www.myjewelryshop.etsy.com Thanks for looking!

    December 11, 2011 at 8:52 am

  18. sadly, i haven’t even started shopping. Not really in the mood this year. But you have the most innovative DIY projects. I’m tempted to give some of these a try.

    December 11, 2011 at 8:58 am

  19. I made some edible treats-pumpkin butter and cookies but not other diy gifts

    December 11, 2011 at 9:06 am

  20. Yes!!! Wine Cork Reindeers!!!!

    December 11, 2011 at 9:31 am

  21. Samantha

    I haven’t bought a single thing! We make a blue print of what and where we are buying gifts, then on the 21st, we hit the stores!

    December 11, 2011 at 9:42 am

  22. sarah

    I suck also, I’ve only made one person something so far… 😦 But I love these! Beautiful!

    December 11, 2011 at 9:43 am

  23. Sarah

    I love these! and have only made one present so far 😦

    December 11, 2011 at 9:47 am

  24. Nope. Haven’t started x-mas gift shopping nor creating yet!
    Oops!
    K

    December 11, 2011 at 9:58 am

  25. Sharana

    I haven’t even started shopping yet! the only thing I’ve gotten so far is a cute hand warmed for my mom, her hands are always cold!
    -Sharana

    December 11, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Sharana

      warmer* oops lol

      December 11, 2011 at 10:03 am

  26. CelesteG

    I got my foody dad miracle berries.

    December 11, 2011 at 10:09 am

  27. Michelle

    I’m not even close to finishing my christmas shopping yet. Yay for procrastination ;D

    December 11, 2011 at 10:19 am

  28. Liz

    It sounds awful, but I only buy presents for my immediate family. I hate getting gifts and giving them. I know, I know so weird.

    December 11, 2011 at 10:45 am

  29. Rebekah

    I am so close to finishing my gift list. I just have two more people!!!

    December 11, 2011 at 10:52 am

  30. This is awesome dear!! I’m making these on my holiday vacations!!!
    You’re so talented!
    xoxo Julieta

    December 11, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  31. Erin Taylor

    I’ve made my gifts for the girls on my list! Last person on my list is my little brothers birthday present; he’s a Christmas Eve baby!

    December 11, 2011 at 1:12 pm

  32. Melissa

    I’ve finished shopping for my mom, sister, dad and boyfriend, but still need to shop for my boyfriend’s kids.

    December 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm

  33. Olivia D.

    I haven’t finished my shopping yet, but I should be done this week!

    December 11, 2011 at 2:27 pm

  34. ge-nome

    Im actually making a scarf fo my grandma and mom.

    December 11, 2011 at 3:52 pm

  35. this is great! I love this. I can’t wait to make this!!!

    December 11, 2011 at 4:00 pm

  36. I made hair accessories for my girlfriends at work! So cute and saved a ton of money!

    December 11, 2011 at 4:20 pm

  37. lisa cox

    still have no idea what I’m buying my friends, just hoping the perfect gift magically appears infront of me 🙂

    December 11, 2011 at 4:25 pm

  38. Callie

    I am not done with my shopping, I still have more gifts to get for my family and friends.

    December 11, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  39. LaShaun

    Nope! The only person that I have purchased a gift(s) for so far is my son. I know what I am going to get everyone else, I just havn’t gotten around to buying it.

    December 11, 2011 at 5:10 pm

  40. Jessminda

    No! Still a ways to go.

    December 11, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  41. Jenn

    Not yet, but I have the next few days off and expect to make great progress.

    December 11, 2011 at 6:07 pm

  42. Ruthie

    And the results are!……..
    My Sister:20
    Ruthie: 0
    The results are pathetic

    December 11, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  43. Sabrina

    Still have a little more to do

    December 11, 2011 at 7:23 pm

  44. Danae

    i haven’t even started!! :/

    December 11, 2011 at 7:24 pm

  45. Tesa

    haven’t even finished exams yet let alone set foot in a mall LOL. soon…

    December 11, 2011 at 7:27 pm

  46. Sue F.

    At least half of the gifts I’m giving are homemade and about half of them are done already … gotta start working on the other half!

    December 11, 2011 at 8:26 pm

  47. I am still making gifts and cards. LOL! I should have started earlier. I did make some headbands but different from these and I made one topper for a hair clip out of fun foam and glitter. Mailed them Friday. Gifts that had to be mailed have been made and mailed. 🙂 Almost everything is DIY this year.

    December 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm

  48. Michelle

    Yup 🙂 i’m all finished! it feels good to actually get all my christmas gifting / diying done before the last minute for once!

    December 12, 2011 at 1:02 am

  49. Oi, adoro seu blog, tem dicas ótimas, parabéns, é um dos meus favoritos, fiz aquele DIY da camiseta com o desenho de esqueleto, beijos.

    December 15, 2011 at 1:15 pm

  50. Pingback: DIY: Embellished Headband

  51. Pingback: DIY EVENT: Glitterati Social Club January Event Details |

Leave a Reply

