DIY: Gold Leaf Vanity Set + Gold Leave Starter Kit Giveaway

I’ve developed a slight obsession with the gold leafing process ever since I leafed my iPhone case. This week alone I applied the gold goodness to  2 picture frames, a vase, a pair of earrings and a wood bangle. It’s such an easy way to transform something dull into something ahhhhhmazing! I thought a gold vanity set is the perfect gift for all my beauty lovers out there. My Great Grandmother had a gold vanity set that sat on her dresser and I always admired it.

Materials: Gold Leaf Starter Kit (which includes: gold foil, adhesive and sealer), Mirror, Comb, Brush

Step 1: Apply the adhesive and let it dry for about 30 minutes

Step 2: Apply gold foil and use a brush to remove the extra

Step 3: Apply the sealer to protect and set the foil

And there you have it…3 steps to fabulous! Such a fun idea I just had to show you twice. The Midas touch vanity set is the perfect gift for all the beauty lovers on your list. I have a few beauty blogger friends that should expect to see these in their stockings with a note attached that says “Happy Holidays! Love, Kristen” Which leads me to the question of the day…

Question: What’s your favorite beauty product?

There’s a tie for my two fave products… 1. the Proactiv makeup remover cloths (they’re like magic) and 2. Rimmel London’s Max Volume Lash Mascara. I use both of these products on a daily basis and don’t now how to function without them. I’d love to hear your favorite. Leave your answers below. Contest ends tonight at 9pm pst and with the help of a fancy number generating system, a number will be selected. If your answer falls in the comment box that corresponds with the selected number…you win a gold leafing starter kit so you can give the Midas touch to whatever your desire! Don’t worry if you don’t win today because we’re playing this game for a few more days! Each day is a new DIY project, a new prize and a new chance to win.

UPDATE: 14 was the randomly selected number!

Congrats Carly! You won gold leaf starter kit!

35 responses

  1. Liz

    Mascara, I can go out bare faced but mascara makes everything ok!

    December 10, 2011 at 12:39 am

  2. Michelle

    MAC’s eyeliner!

    December 10, 2011 at 1:03 am

  3. Michelle

    mascara and hairspray, all the way! (bonus points for rhyming?)

    December 10, 2011 at 1:29 am

  4. kathyS

    Lip liner — and I also consider my eyeglasses a beauty product.

    December 10, 2011 at 5:03 am

  5. Jenna

    I love love love my eyeliner! I already have big eyes so adding a thick black line just makes them pop even more!

    December 10, 2011 at 5:47 am

  6. Jessminda

    Fresh sugar rose lip balm! It’s the perfect color, has SPF 15, and is in a pretty pink tube. Plus, it the color lasts forever and is universally flattering 🙂

    December 10, 2011 at 5:54 am

  7. Katherine

    Bare Minerals mineral powder! Best concealer I’ve ever had. Thanks for the opportunity!

    December 10, 2011 at 6:11 am

  8. Chloe

    Favorite beauty product? Mascara because without it I look tired. Thanks for the many posts and giveaways.

    December 10, 2011 at 6:18 am

  9. Sue F.

    Concealer!!!

    December 10, 2011 at 6:51 am

  10. Shelley Gabriel

    My favorite beauty product is primer. You gotta start with a quality canvas to create a masterpiece!

    December 10, 2011 at 7:21 am

  11. My two favorite beauty products would be Mascara and Blush. I find those are two things I can’t walk out of my house without. Everything else is like icing on the cake 🙂 I love referring to myself as Cake… make me giggle!

    December 10, 2011 at 7:33 am

  12. Denise Dean

    Couldn’t leave the house without a lip and a lash, but, other than these basics, my other favorite product is Aveeno’s Positively Radiant tinted moisturizer. Most days it’s enough, and I don’t have to bother with foundation. Glad to hear little bro’ is ok!

    December 10, 2011 at 7:50 am

  13. Morgan

    eyeliner!!! it makesmy eyes pop!

    December 10, 2011 at 8:15 am

  14. Carly C

    mascara!!!!

    December 10, 2011 at 8:20 am

    • Congrats! Your number was selected! You won the gold leafing starter kit. I’ll email you regarding how to claim your prize.

      December 10, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  15. Evin Elise

    bronzer!!!

    December 10, 2011 at 8:28 am

  16. I love Witch Hazel.
    I use it as my toner, it helps with acne, as well as minor cuts.
    It’s all natural to boot!
    K

    December 10, 2011 at 8:41 am

  17. Tiffany O

    I love my Nars orgasm blush !

    December 10, 2011 at 9:12 am

  18. xoxoxlittlej

    I love using the Mary Kay Cream Blush. It glides on so well and it freshens up my face when I’m in a big hurry.

    December 10, 2011 at 9:44 am

  19. Ali

    I could not live without my maybelline falsies mascara!

    December 10, 2011 at 9:47 am

  20. I could not live without my Aveeno face moisturizer! It’s like a drink for my skin!

    December 10, 2011 at 9:57 am

  21. I love Fresh Soy Cleanser! leaves your skin glowing and has a fresh cucumber fragrance .

    December 10, 2011 at 10:28 am

  22. Rebekah

    I am pretty obsessed with Avon’s longwear eyeliner. It stays on my eyes thru everything! I have three different colors.

    December 10, 2011 at 11:01 am

  23. Sarah

    Mascara and I just bought the Naked Palette from Urban Decay and am slightly obsessed at the moment.

    December 10, 2011 at 12:29 pm

  24. Tesa

    Origins face primer…It feels like silk!!

    December 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm

  25. I love my Stila one step makeup! it’s so easy to use and perfect when I’m running late!

    great DIY!

    December 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm

  26. CelesteG

    I’m super duper pale, so i get terrible under eye circles. Bobby Brown’s under eye makeup is heavenly.

    December 10, 2011 at 12:41 pm

  27. ge-nome

    My favorite beauty product is my victoria secret triple drama mascara. i have long eyelashes so using these gives them a lot of volume.

    December 10, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  28. Tricia G

    mascara!

    December 10, 2011 at 4:54 pm

  29. Mac eyeliner, and masacra. I care more about my nails.

    December 10, 2011 at 5:01 pm

  30. Kimberly P.

    My favorite beauty product would be eos lip blam passion fruit 🙂 Love this DIY & the phone case one . If I win this giveaway I’m going to make the phone case for my sister Jen for Christmas . Thanks 😀

    December 10, 2011 at 5:27 pm

  31. Kimmie C

    Dior Diorshow Mascara – better than false eyelashes (falsies end up falling off my lids within an hour)

    December 10, 2011 at 6:49 pm

  32. Ruthie

    I love any lip stuff! Lips are the best thing about a person’s face when applying make-up because they are so versatile! If you put on any kind of lip stuff it can change your whole look! I like tinted chap stick the best because they can heal your chapped lips while making you look made up and it’s not as gloppy as regular lipstick.

    December 10, 2011 at 7:10 pm

  33. LaShaun

    I would have to say mascara and lip gloss, I never leave home without it!

    December 10, 2011 at 7:11 pm

  34. Pingback: Aveeno Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturizer | sensitiveskinconditions.com

Leave a Reply

