DIY: Tribal Painted Journal + Plaid Crafts Paint Giveaway

I love to spend my weekend mornings sipping coffee (in my mug I picked up this Summer while visiting the Eiffle Tower gift shop), flipping through fashion magazines looking for inspiration and writing in my journal. It’s the best way to relax and collect my thoughts. At the beginning of every year I always pick up a new blank journal and then spend the next 365 days filling with list, ideas and aspirations. Journals make for great gifts!

Materials: Composition Notebook, Paint, Brushes

I love color!

Give yourself a blank canvas by adding a thin layer of bright white paint to the front cover. Use painters tape to protect the black binding so you don’t get paint on it.

Get creative! Tribal patterns are all about shapes and lines. Designing your own pattern is tons of fun.

Give the gift of inspiration this year! A few years ago I was lucky enough to have been invited to a brunch at the Los Angeles home of Diane Von Furstenberg. At the brunch we got to tour parts of her home, socialize and of course look at her latest collection. As parting gift we were all give bags full of DVF goodies. In my bag was a spiral bound journal with a quote from Diane inscribes on the inside cover, “Be the woman you want to be! ❤ Diane”. I cherished this journal and it became my inspiration journal for the year. In it I wrote a years worth of  hopes, dreams and ideas. Every time I open the journal and look at that quote, I’m inspired. I have a long list of hardworking and determined women, like Ms. DVF, who inspire my and I would love to know…

Question: Who is on your list of people that inspire you?

Is it your Mom or Grandma? Maybe it’s a grade school teacher? Or maybe it’s Barbra… Streisand or Walters?  Leave your answer below. Contest ends tonight at 9pm pst and with the help of a fancy number generating system, a number will be selected. If your answer falls in the comment box that corresponds with the selected number…you win a new collection of my favorite color paints from Plaid Crafts from my personal collection! Color has truly inspired me this year and I’d love to share with the winner.  Don’t worry if you don’t win today because we’re playing this game all week! Each day is a new DIY project, a new prize and a new chance to win.

xoxo, Kristen

UPDATE: 12 was the randomly selected number!

Congrats Gabriela! You won the Plaid paint goodies.

32 responses

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    You are very talented in decorating your journals! 🙂
    There are many people who inspire me – my mom, for sure, because she is a strong woman who has overcome many bad things in her life and still can smile and give love to others. My art therapy teacher, because she learned me how to look different at the world. Random people in the streets, because you can learn something new from anyone. My best friend, because she is the most stylish girl I have ever seen. The list might be endless 🙂

    December 4, 2011 at 1:31 am

  2. It is several decades later but I have never forgotten my sixth grade teacher Mrs. Small. She was the one who got me interested in photography and crafts of all kinds. Most important though is she believed in me when no one else did. She encouraged me to be myself and to like myself for who I am. I will always be grateful that Mrs. Small came into my life because she made a difference in my life. The world needs more teachers like Mrs. Small.

    December 4, 2011 at 1:44 am

  3. Karen

    I’m inspired by the way Jesus Christ lived his life, and the people and places he chose to include. That means that I try to give more than I get, and remember to try to brighten the day of someone that other’s typically overlook, like the elderly, mentally or physically challenged, or poor and displaced. Jesus knew that his time here on earth was brief and that he would one day sit at the right hand of God, but he was never arrogant or in a rush. He took his time with people that needed him and he gave love and sacrifice to all.

    December 4, 2011 at 6:39 am

  4. Janelle Monae is my absolute inspiration and muse. Her style is unique to her attitude and purpose in the entertainment industry. I aspire to change lives with my career just as she has/does/is doing!

    December 4, 2011 at 6:58 am

  5. I am mostly inspired by my aunt, who turned every bad condition into something good and positive. She was the kindest person I knew.

    December 4, 2011 at 7:06 am

  6. Helene

    I am inspired by many great women, but right now I’m especially inspired by my 94-year-old grandma. Since Thanksgiving, she’s not been doing well, health-wish. She’s had a lot of hardships in her life, but has always had a positive attitude – never focused on the negative. I asked her about these hardships a few years ago and her response was simple and inspiring: “I’ve had a good life and I’ve been very lucky.” I want to live my life like that!

    December 4, 2011 at 8:30 am

  7. My mom inspires me. She is a single parent, when she was laid off two years ago she did not give up. She went back to school even though she was still raising three daughters and through all the struggle has come out stronger.

    December 4, 2011 at 9:05 am

  8. CelesteG

    Ghandi. Stereotypical much? yes.

    December 4, 2011 at 9:22 am

  9. Camilla Skovgaard inspires me. I want to design beautiful shoes like she does. I collect journals already decorated with inspiring words and quotes. Now I can paint my journals with with my favorite colors and favorite quotess as well. Thank you for sharing, Best Malaika

    December 4, 2011 at 9:27 am

  10. Melissa

    My mom. She’s a strong woman who is always there for her family and friends. She has a lot of faith. She also has a lot of love for people. Her passion for teaching kids inspires me to find something that I am passionate about to change the world somehow.

    December 4, 2011 at 9:27 am

  11. Valerie

    My parents inspire me. My father is the most amazing person that I’ve ever met. He has overcome so much, and is so strong. My mother is the most wonderful person I’ve ever met. She is kind to everyone, and puts up with my father 🙂

    December 4, 2011 at 9:30 am

  12. Gabriela

    Now that i think about it, My family inspires me.

    December 4, 2011 at 9:57 am

    • Congrats Gabriela! You won the Plaid Crafts paint goodies. I’ll email you details on how to collect your prize! Congrats!

      December 4, 2011 at 9:34 pm

  13. Kristen,
    What a fantastic idea, painting a composition book! The result is so pretty. I keep my own inspiration notebooks, so I might have to try decorating them. 🙂

    The latest person to inspire me is beading artist Sherry Serafini. I looked at her new book last night at Barnes and Noble, and I was amazed at her use of color and shape and texture. As soon as I got home, I went right to my beads and started playing.

    — Sarah

    December 4, 2011 at 10:21 am

  14. Tiffany O

    There are several people that inspire me, one is Oprah because I feel she is truly an amazing person all around and another is Bethenny Frankel because of how she never stopped going after what she wanted and although her success in business came a little late she still got it. I’m inspired from people who come from nothing and make something out of themselves or get over tragic times in their life and become amazing people.

    December 4, 2011 at 10:29 am

  15. Michelle

    J. K. Rowling inspires me, because she took a great idea and made it into a worldwide phenomenon, completely changing the world, her life, and the idea of reading in the minds of children

    December 4, 2011 at 10:42 am

  16. Jessminda

    My mom! She’s strong, creative, fun, and just plain awesome!

    December 4, 2011 at 11:12 am

  17. Jennifer P.

    My mom continues to inspire me everyday. She is a fighter who doesn’t let anything stand in her way. This includes painful back surgery earlier this year. She is always taking care of others and pushes me to be nothing but the best that I can be.

    December 4, 2011 at 11:30 am

  18. Samantha

    There are a number of people in my life who I look up to. First off is my parents, whose sacrifice so much and give so much to those who need it. My Husband who has gone through some really bad times and has never let anything or anyone stop him from believing in himself. My husbands grandma, bc she is still so sassy and honest, and is always doing something, even at 89. Those are just a few, but I know that I have been truly blessed with great people in my life.

    Oh and I LOVE your idea to make your journal more you on the outside!! I made a collage on one of mine one year and it has been cool not only to look back at what I thought and went through but the things and people I was interested and the trends I followed that year as well! Thanks for being awesome and sharing with us!!!

    December 4, 2011 at 12:41 pm

  19. Of course my Mom inspires me. She is one of those super moms who is a smart RN career nurse, a crafty woman who can whip out a quilt like no other, a good cook, and kids & animals love her. She’s the best!
    K

    December 4, 2011 at 12:47 pm

  20. Those look great! I have a whole set of Moleskines written full, but I’m looking to get rid of the boring black.
    I really want to inspire my boyfriend. I’m not always the easiest person to be with, but he gets me up and happy again, and supports me wherever he can. He himself is searching for new inspiration in his life, and I’m trying to help him find it. I want to do whatever I can to inspire him!

    December 4, 2011 at 1:18 pm

  21. Angela

    My father is my greatest inspiration. He goes above and beyond in everything he does. He juggles a full-time job, being the father of ten children, a loving husband to my mother, and is the leader of a congregation. And with all of those responsibilities, he still manages to be a great friend!

    December 4, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  22. My baby brother. He was born 4/12/93 with half his brain and the doctors said he wouldn’t make it to 5 months. He fought hard and thou he didn’t live long, we did get to celebrate a birthday with him before he passed (10/13/94)

    December 4, 2011 at 2:55 pm

  23. angela

    My cousin really inspires me! she’s four years older and I’ve looked up to her my whole life!

    December 4, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  24. Morgan

    My art teacher really inspires me she has always been about expressing your self, no matter what the project was. My Aunt she is the nicest kindest person, she always tries to help to the best of her abilites. My best friend she is amazing! She is always there for me, and she can always put me in a good mood! And my physics buddy, she is great and very helpful in physcis when ever i need her!

    December 4, 2011 at 5:26 pm

  25. Ge-nome

    My mom, dad, and grandma inspire me. They always try to help me succed and try even harder. They are always there for me and always motivate to reach for the stars.My dads never give up attitude, my moms shopping addiction, and my grandmas laughing all the time attitude helps me remember what amazing things i have and will soon learn from them.

    December 4, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  26. Katie S.

    definitely my mom, she’s amazing!! she’s always there for me and always sends me cards in the mail since i’m going to school away from home.

    December 4, 2011 at 7:12 pm

  27. The biggest fingerprint is my grandmother’s, may she rest in peace. She still teaches me from the “beyond.” She left me a wealth of stories, and “teachings” to remember – till this day I find meaning in our conversations. I find advice to follow from the many many hours we spent together talking. She taught me to turn enemies into friends, to be patient when it was too difficult to bare the difficulties, to have hope when it was too dark. She taught me that “no matter how bad things became, how hard people aimed their bad vibes at you, no one can ever affect your inner space… it is all yours, there is light inside, no one can ever dim it, they can never touch that.” I used to have a tough job in a cut-throat industry, full of sharks, and what she planted in me made me overcome the toughest of experiences. I survived the worst kinds of bosses, unfair, manipulative, and discouraging, until I became a boss myself, with the hope of adopting an ethical management style… until I got depleted, and I ran back to my grandmother’s sea of love to find an answer, and after 14 years of hardwork, I finally learnt the biggest lesson she taught me, “heed your heart’s advice,” and I found my long lost happiness in starting my own handmade jewelry endeavor, and living a simple competitive-less life.

    December 4, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  28. Liz

    My Uncle! He has lead a colorful life and now owns a record store. He has some stories!

    December 4, 2011 at 7:20 pm

  29. Cee

    My greatest inspirations are my mom my high school english teacher people who touch others like nikki giovanni sonia sanchez even janet Jackson and beyonce

    December 5, 2011 at 7:56 am

  30. ncnguyen514

    Pablo Picasso.. Alexander Calder… Martha Stewart.. my mom..

    December 5, 2011 at 9:04 am

  31. Rennee

    I would have to say my Stepdad. He has been there through thick and thin for us, he even loves the crazy parts of my mom (she could be a blissful nutbag). When i see him, i see strength, pride, love for family, confidence, faithfulness, honesty and a truckload of humor, lol

    December 5, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

