DIY: Placemat iPad Cover + Bed, Bath and Beyond Giveaway

Electronics are a hot gif item during the Holidays. This season many have added the iPad to their wish list. Well here’s an idea, why don’t you make the perfect iPad case for the treasured jewel of technology? It’s inexpensive, unique and easy…

Materials: Placemat, 2 Buttons, Hair Tie, Needle and Thread

Lay your placemat flat with your pattern facing you. Something about this placemat reminded me of Missoni.

Fold the placemat in half.

An iPad measures 7.5 inches wide by 9.5 inches tall. Use a marker to draw an outline around the iPad.

Use the marker as your guide and hand stitch the mat together leaving an opening at the top. Also, be sure to leave at least a half inch seam allowance on each side. Any additional fabric can be removed with scissors.

Now that you have stitched you pouch, flip the mat inside out so that the pattern is now showing right side out.

Add one button to each side about 1 inch from the top opening.

Use the hair tie as a closure by looping it around both buttons.

I love my iPad! I almost never leave home without it. Even though I initially purchased it for my Dad, for some reason it ended up in my purse and never made it to his house. Strange how that happened. People are always so excited when Apple releases new products. People camp out and stand in line for hours so they can be among the first to have the latest and the greatest. That got me thinking….

Question: Have you ever camped out or waited hours in line to purchase anything?

Yep I’m looking at all you guys who camped out for Black Friday! Did you occupy the mall to score the Versace for H&M collection?  I wanna hear the stories. Leave your answer below. Contest ends tonight at 9pm pst and with the help of a fancy number generating system, a number will be selected. If your answer falls in the comment box that corresponds with the selected number…you win a $25 gift card to Bed, Bath and Beyond! Do you know how many placemat iPad covers you can buy for $25? Don’t worry if you don’t win today because we’re playing this game all week! Each day is a new DIY project, a new prize and a new chance to win.

UPDATE: 17 was the randomly selected number

Congrats Benita! You won the $25 Bed, Bath & Beyond gift card.

41 responses

  1. Michelle

    I left immediately following Thanksgiving and arrived at the Desert Hills Outlet at 10:30pm – by then, the place was already bustling with business. Lines were LONG, especially ones to the premium designer stores. Rather than standing in line (in the cold) for hours, I hit the smaller shops first. I scored a pair of black Ferragamos for a third of their original price! I didn’t spend too much time there though, as the place got too crowded too soon. After a 2-hour drive, I was home and sleeping 🙂

    December 3, 2011 at 2:00 am

  2. kathyS

    nope –why camp out when one can make beautiful things –much less stress

    December 3, 2011 at 3:20 am

  3. Patti

    No I never have camped out. Just don’t seem to need anything that badly.

    December 3, 2011 at 3:33 am

  4. Chloe

    I didn’t camp out but I was in front of the store 3 hours before the opening, does it count?:)
    That was for Sonia Rykiel for H&M, the girls were too just crazy! I didn’t even get the item I really wanted because it was too apocalyptic:)

    December 3, 2011 at 5:12 am

  5. i camped out for John Legend/A Keys tickets for my birthday when they came into town 05. I never been pumped to stand in line for the newest games/technology-never mattered that much to me.

    December 3, 2011 at 5:14 am

  6. Angela

    I’ve waited outside, on a rainy day, for about 4 hours, just for the grand opening of a new H&M. The store gave out goody bags & gift cards. It was so worth it!

    December 3, 2011 at 5:38 am

  7. Nia

    OMG…too cute, you are so crafty. Love it.

    December 3, 2011 at 6:06 am

  8. Morgan

    Nope I haven’t camped out maybe someday!

    December 3, 2011 at 6:16 am

  9. Morgan H

    Never and every time I hear about someone hurt in those rushes for the first one I think nothing is that important.

    December 3, 2011 at 6:57 am

  10. I absolutey love this IPad cover idea. I had to camp out this Black Friday for a Playstation 3 for my kids. I don’t usually camp out because I can’t stand the crowds – but they are going to love it and it was a bargain.

    December 3, 2011 at 7:01 am

  11. MarshaR

    never camped out. my time is much more precious to me than saving some bucks. you can always make more money, but you can’t make more time.

    December 3, 2011 at 7:21 am

  12. I have not camp out for anything but I have waited for hours just to get good seats for the Harry Potter movies.

    December 3, 2011 at 7:57 am

  13. Tara

    There were a couple of toys at Walmart this year that I new my nearly 2 year old would looove.So her papa watched her(she was asleep lol),and her dad and I got to Walmart at 930.We had to park in another stores lot and meander through a few hundred people,but I got 2 of the 3 we wanted.There were cops,and an ambulance pulled up we were leaving.Luckily getting there at 930, sale started at 10 and we were literally out at 1005.This mama doesn’t play around. Thanks for a great giveaway!

    December 3, 2011 at 8:19 am

  14. Gabriela

    I camped out to get a tv at best buy,pretty intense.

    December 3, 2011 at 8:20 am

  15. No, never camped out really… but I’ve definitely stood in line several hours before a store opens. Camping overnight just seems a bit much 😀

    December 3, 2011 at 8:44 am

  16. jes

    i have never camped out and probably never will, i hate shopping in crowded stores

    December 3, 2011 at 8:56 am

  17. benitafay

    Last year, my friends and I camped out at a Target near their house just to see all the foolishness. It was CRAZY! People were fighting to get in the door, there were lines for flat screen TV, and we sat back and laughed. I did end up buying a few bananas though lol.

    December 3, 2011 at 9:03 am

    • Congrats! You’re number was selected and you won the Bed, Bath & Beyond gift card! I’ll email you about details.

      December 3, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  18. Jill S.

    I have never camped to buy anything, but my son and friends did at Best Buy in winter in Minnesota to get an XBOX! I brought them donuts and hot chocolate at 2 a.m. and let them warm up in my car (they all fell asleep immediately)!

    December 3, 2011 at 9:08 am

  19. Yes. Waited 3 days to see Elvis!!!

    December 3, 2011 at 9:31 am

  20. i’ve never camped out, but i went with a friend to breaking dawn and left 2 hours ahead of time for tickets! I think one of my life goals will be to camp out in front of a store before i die. You cant live life without that!

    December 3, 2011 at 9:35 am

  21. Natalie

    Hello I have been coming to your site for a couple of months now and I luv it! I am trying to find time to do some of your great projects. Anyway, I waited in line for both my iPad 2 and my new iPhone 4s! I woke up early on a Saturday made a breakfast sandwich and got my Starbucks and went to wait in line for my iPad for 2 hours. I am glad I did because I luv this thing. I also waited in a mini line for the Missoni for Target line. That was crazy not so much the line but the women running through the isles throwing items in their carts. It was madness.

    December 3, 2011 at 9:51 am

  22. I have never camped out, but I did wait in line several hours with my boyfriend when the first iPhone was released. It was for him, not me. I’m still using the first cell phone I ever purchased. lol

    December 3, 2011 at 10:45 am

  23. Michelle

    I waited for 18 hours for the last Harry Potter movie. I was first in line! (it’s not exactly a purchase, but it sure was camping out!)

    December 3, 2011 at 12:36 pm

  24. CelesteG

    Harry Potter tickets:)

    December 3, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  25. The closest I have ever come to camping out is a few months after the Wii came out. It consisted of calling a Target to find out when there shipment was coming in, then arriving an hour before the store opened to hang out with the 8 other people also waiting to buy Wii’s. We didn’t even have to wait outside for very long, the employees let us wait inside and let us buy the Wii’s before the store was even open.

    December 3, 2011 at 1:34 pm

  26. My husband and I didn’t wait in line, or camp out anywhere. But we did score some great deals on Black Friday at Barnes and Nobles. We got 50% off of a couple of educational toys for our son, got huge coffee table book for 50% off, and an additional free book after we bought 2 others. Score! And we didn’t even have to camp out! We woke up that morning and spontaneously decided to go shopping. Ha ha.

    December 3, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  27. Janice

    no, especially with full time work. Never say never though 😉

    December 3, 2011 at 2:14 pm

  28. Ge-nome

    This year was my first year going black friday shopping. i didnt campout but i did go to macys, h&m, walmart, foot locker, sears, and victoria secret. it was so funny seeing all the people that were running around in the stores. i still dont understand how people could bring there kids to somthing as crazy as this.Macys was so crowded.I had to push a bunch of people to finally get into where the shoes on sale were. i ended up only buying a bunch of movie and cds from walmart and a small Michale Kors clutch for my sister.

    December 3, 2011 at 2:18 pm

  29. Jaime

    I waited hours to see the last two Harry Potter movies, and waited for the last book to be released at midnight 🙂

    December 3, 2011 at 3:02 pm

  30. Great DIY! Love how it’s so creative!

    wtfwhatthefashion.blogspot.com/

    December 3, 2011 at 3:04 pm

  31. Chrissy R.

    I waited 3 hours to do a race this morning. Probably not what you meant so I guess the answer is not really…

    December 3, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  32. Jessminda

    I wish I’d gone to Target to snatch up the Missoni flats and espresso cup and saucer set that I had my eye on! Oh well, that’s what ebay is for 🙂

    December 3, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  33. In high school we camped out to get tickets to see The Who

    December 3, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  34. No, I’ve never waited in line for hours or camped out to buy/see anything

    December 3, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  35. Sabrina

    Nope never wanted anything that bad!

    December 3, 2011 at 7:53 pm

  36. Gena

    I have, just once. My friend wanted a wii so we went with her. It was so cold, never again!

    December 3, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  37. ncnguyen514

    Just once.. and it wasn’t even for me. I kept my friend company while we waited for the BRAND NEW XBOX 360 (when they first came out). In the cold and the rain in Leesburg, VA… for two days…

    December 5, 2011 at 9:04 am

  38. Pingback: IPAD Cover DIY :) |

  39. Pingback: As melhores ideias de customização: Glitter 'N Glue | Customização de Roupas, Acessórios e Objetos de Decoração - Customizando.net

  40. Pingback: I pad cover con una tovaglietta americana | Mi arrangio da sola

Leave a Reply

