Happy Halloween

As of last Thursday I had absolutely no plans for Halloween. More than likely I was going to be at home sitting in my sweats eating a bag of candy I picked up at Rite Aid and watching Dancing with the Stars. So when my friend called and made the suggestion that we high-tail it to Vegas to join her at Holly Madison’s costume party, I started dusting off my wigs and packing my bags!

Consider this the Halloween DIY challenge… I had less than 24 hours to find a costume. I wanted to be “Diamonds are a Girls Best Friend” Marilyn, but couldn’t find the costume. Instead of making my life easier and grabbing the princess a bag costume I headed on down to my local fabric store and scooped up so much pink fabric that even Barbie would think I’d gone overboard! Enjoy the pics of my no sew Halloween costume. Well almost no sew. I used the same technique I used to make my snakeskin tote, minus the staples.  To make the strapless tube dress I took a strip of fabric, folded it inside out and hand stitched it up the side leaving a 1” seam. To make the oversized bow I used the bow-making technique I showed on E! News, but to make the bow lush and full I put tulle on the inside of the bow so it would hold its shape.

Consider this my 2011 DIY final exam. Make your Halloween costume using at lest 2 techniques from past Glitter ‘N Glue projects…and… go!

JACKPOT!

I love that there was another Marilyn hittin’ the slots too! COME ON BIG MONEY!!

Hugs and Kisses! xoxo

I was too busy taking pictures of myself that I forgot to take a picture with Holly at the party, but if you look closely you can see she was photo bombing my photos (…and by photo bombing I mean minding her own business and enjoying her party!)

Also, a big Halloween hug to all my fabulous Glitterati guys and gals that participated in the faBOOlous DIY series in honor of Halloween. Many of you, like Krys from LA and Amanda, sent me photos of the projects you completed. I really enjoyed all the emails, comments and pictures. You guys are so creative! xo

Happy Halloween!! 

4 responses

  1. Still so impressed with your amazing DIY skills. So much fun this weekend!

    October 31, 2011 at 10:58 am

  2. Marilyn never leads us astray… well, perhaps sometimes…

    October 31, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  3. You look gorgeous!!! I love that pink fabric.

    October 31, 2011 at 3:19 pm

  4. I really love the pink fabric! I think that diy costumes for Halloween are the best! Halloween costumes can be really expensive, especially since they are so cheaply made!

    November 2, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Leave a Reply

