DIY: D&G Inspired Love Letter Statement Necklace

Who’s ready to head back to school? Thank goodness those years are long behind me. The best thing about going back to school was when my Mom would take me to Palais Royal for back to school shopping. Since I wen to private school and I was forced to rock a uniform, accessories were the only way I could really show my individual style.

I’m a big fan of the D&G Fall 2011 collection. It’s full of bright colors and this fun alphabet print that’s worked thorough out the entire collection. Click here to take a look.ย  If I was going back to school I’d love to wear a few of these pieces on my first day. As usual, I was inspired by the D&G statement necklace and hit up my local hardware store to purchase some materials to create my own.

Happy Crafting! And good luck with the new school year to all my readers heading back to class.

Materials: Chain, Rhinestones, Metal Hardware Letters

Use the plyers to connect the chain and the rhinestone to create your necklace.

Use large jump rings (you can pick those up at your local bead store) and attach the metal hardware letters to your chain.

Workin’ my necklace on the streets of NYC last month! W-O-R-K…Work!

20 responses

  1. I love this necklace!!!!! Great job, Kristen ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 18, 2011 at 9:34 am

  2. OMG! LOVE this!!! So freakin’ clever!!!

    August 18, 2011 at 9:37 am

  3. Lia

    LOVE this!! Great job!!
    xoxox
    Lia

    August 18, 2011 at 9:40 am

  4. Can we also talk about your dress here for a minute? I love it! Where’s it from?

    August 18, 2011 at 10:03 am

    • It’s H and M. I bought it a few months ago, but they might still have a few of them. Best thing about this dress is because of the way it’s cut I was able to get it 2 sizes SMALLER! oh yeaaa!

      August 22, 2011 at 10:13 am

  5. OHH! This is such a cool necklace!!! I love it; can’t wait to make my own now ๐Ÿ˜‰ thx for the DIY!:)
    p.s.- you look phenomenal!

    August 18, 2011 at 10:17 am

  6. OMFG! That is effin’ gorgeous and looks even better then the D&G collection!

    August 18, 2011 at 1:00 pm

  7. Fave DIY as of now!!! Totally doing this as my next project!

    August 19, 2011 at 5:51 pm

  8. so cute. Yours actually looks like a nice statement necklace and the original looks like one used childrens magnetic letters. you know the ones that attach to the fridge?! lol Great job!
    Maya
    http://byebyesoccermom.blogspot.com/2011/08/diy-flip-flops-inspired-by-prada.html

    August 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    • lol YES! I loved those magnets back in the day!!

      August 22, 2011 at 10:14 am

  9. I love the necklace! Where did you bought the letters!?
    bbyangelx.blogspot.com

    August 22, 2011 at 3:17 am

    • My local hardware store.

      August 22, 2011 at 10:15 am

  10. did you see the key chains and the braclets!

    August 22, 2011 at 11:46 am

  11. This is gorgeous, I will have to see if my favorite hardware store in Paris has letters or anything else I can use.
    As for your dress, it looks fab’ I think I may have bought the same one in orange at the beginning of the summer from H & M.
    Geneviรจve

    September 6, 2011 at 9:31 am

  12. Kristi Campbell

    Where do you find the beads, pearls, letters, and rhinestone chains from?

    September 18, 2011 at 2:20 pm

  13. omfg this looks amazing! gunna try it soon x

    May 4, 2012 at 1:21 pm

  14. thatโ€™s what i love about youโ€ฆyouโ€™re just who you are and awesome at being you

    February 5, 2013 at 11:44 pm

Leave a Reply

