DIY: Who’s Running The World?… Beyonce In A Mini Fringe Skirt

If you follow me on twitter then you know I always start my day off by listening to a playlist on my itunes titled “Hello…Good Morning”. This is a playlist of songs that inspire and motivate me to tackle the day, including: Power by Kanye West, Big Pimpin by Jay Z, All I Do Is Win by DJ Khaled, Working 9 to 5 by Dolly Parton and many, many more.Β  I recently added Beyonce’sΒ  Run The World (Girls) to the list. I’m beyond excited because now Mrs. Knowles-Carter has blessed us with a video that’s equally as fabulous as the song!

Houston, Texas baby!

This video is gritty and glamorous and packed full of fantastic do-it-yourself ideas.

This headband situation…

This turtleneck/ necklace combo…

Ummmm hello… these earrings!

These shoes… duh…

But I’d love to think Beyonce and her stylist Ty Hunter watched my E! News segment and were inspired by my segment to create a fringe mini skirt (Yes I know they filmed the video before my segment aired, but please don’t ruin this for me!)

If you were able to catch my DIY segment on E! News then you’ve already seen this tutorial and hopefully you’ll be creating one soon and sending me pictures… hint, hint. If you missed it, below is the quick and easy how to…

Materials: A fancy belt (the one pictured is from Target), 2 yards of fringe, glue, scissors

Glue two rows of fringe to the back of the belt. Let dry, then wear over a skirt and shake your groove thang!

You can use any color fringe and wear over any color skirt. Using the ombre fringe could also be an added bonus. The sky is the limit!

Don’t ya’ll laugh… I’m doing my best Beyonce!

*images screen shots from Beyonce’s youtube

22 responses

  1. Julie Witt

    I love, love, LOVE it!!! I am so going to make one of these for myself πŸ™‚

    May 20, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    • email me a picture when you do and I’ll post to the blog

      May 23, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  2. Good Lawd, Beyonce is absolutely KILLIN IT in that video! Everything from the choreography to those outfits – perfection! Awesome tutorial as well. Great post!

    May 20, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    • Work Beyonce, work!!!!

      May 23, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  3. First let me say your glue gun is tooooo cute. This DIY is so easy and cute, good job. Congrats on you E News segment.

    May 20, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    • Thanks! My glue gun like to sparkle too!

      May 23, 2011 at 9:03 pm

  4. Love the Beyonce pics and LOVE that skirt….how easy!! Fringe is so fun.

    May 20, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  5. SimplyMe

    You and your ideas are simply divine!!!

    May 20, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    • I’m totally making this. It’s amazing!!!!! OMG.

      May 21, 2011 at 11:29 am

      • Make one!!!!

        May 23, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    • So sweet. Thank you!

      May 23, 2011 at 9:02 pm

  6. layla

    Cute skirt!

    May 22, 2011 at 4:25 am

  7. Nice! Is there such a thing as “manly” fringe shorts? I’d like to try…

    May 26, 2011 at 5:30 pm

  8. Wow – that is so creative!!
    I’m stopping by from M&J! Can’t wait to see what everyone made next week! πŸ™‚

    June 23, 2011 at 12:27 pm

  9. this is one of the cutest things ever. I can see wearing this out to dance. And who cares about functionality. Its too cool not to make!!1

    July 5, 2011 at 9:57 pm

  10. Ahhh I love it! So chic, not to mention you rock it! P.s. love the pretty glue gun!

    July 7, 2011 at 7:17 am

  11. Vivian

    love it !
    wanna make one for myself but i cant find any fringe material. 😦
    i live in australia so would shops like target/big W/kmart have any?

    July 16, 2011 at 12:42 am

  12. LOOOOVE THIS IDEA! VERY COOL! πŸ˜€
    It looks like it’s attached to the skirt β™₯
    It will look awesome with neon fringes on top of a white fitted mini skirt πŸ˜€

    July 30, 2011 at 4:04 am

  13. omg in love with this skirt!

    April 9, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  14. Pingback: Fringed: DIY Fringe Skirt |

Leave a Reply

