Crafternoon: To Live And DYE In LA

Two of my favorites things in life are cocktails and crafts. A few weeks ago I invite over a few of my fashion blogger friends (Sydne of Think Thru Fashion, Laurie of Laurie B Style and Kelly of Buss Buss) to join me for a little of both. We sipped spiked lemonade and pulled out the bottles of Rit Dye for an afternoon of colorful crafting.

Ombre is a very popular trend for Summer and Rit Dye has an amazing blog where they tell you step by step how to achieve the ombre effect. Click here for all the dye details.

We snacked to these yummy lemon and coconut cream cookies and on chocolate cover strawberry’s Kelly bought as a gift. (Thanks Kelly!)

Before: On my party invitation I requested everyone bring an article of clothing they wished to dye.

Kelly got the party started by making sure her “Golden Yellow” dye was perfectly mixed.

DIYer Tip: When dyeing you’re not just limited to clothing that is plain white. I opted to dye a tan tunic from H&M with an animal print on it!

Little did we know Laurie is the QUEEN dyeing, but it’s only because she’s had years of practice. Check out her youtube page and she’ll tell you why!

By the way in case you didn’t know fashion blogger do EVERYTHING in heels… even crafting!

Once Laurie Dutchess of Dye (<–sorry leftover from the Royal Wedding) was done dying her scarf, she moved on to this necklace!

Everyone wanted in on the crafternoon action. This squirrel is like the Tim Gunn of the animal kingdom… carry on!

Thanks Laurie for the fun video!

Craft parties are a great way to spend quality time with your friends. Crafter and author Maura Madden has a great book dedicated entirely to  crafternoons. The name of her book is actually called Crafternoon: A Guide to Getting Artsy and Crafty With Your Friends All Year Long and it’s full of fun tips on getting artsy and crafty with your friends (obviously). I encourage all my readers to plan a summer crafternoon!

I had such a blast spending the afternoon with my friends. Thank you ladies for coming and playing with me! xoxo

11 responses

  1. Adorable post and video! Can’t wait to crafternoon again xx!

    May 3, 2011 at 11:29 am

  2. cute!! love this….looks like you girls had fun 🙂

    May 3, 2011 at 1:49 pm

  3. Love the post and the video. So glad you liked the book. Craft on!

    May 3, 2011 at 2:56 pm

  4. I’ve never ventured on any experiences with dye but I might try it now! sounds like the most wonderful “crafternoon” (love the word)!

    May 4, 2011 at 11:14 am

  5. Delia

    Nice video. I like how your shirt turned out! I’m adding ‘Crafternoon’ to my vocabulary and will have one soon. Friends, diy, and messes.. my three favorites!

    May 9, 2011 at 8:30 am

  6. donching chang

    Hey saw u on Enews…m a fan from Nagaland ,India..u were so grt on tv…ur eyes r so beautiful,its sparkling !!!!!!!1 luv ur diys’ xoxo

    May 11, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    • So sweet. Thank you very much!

      May 13, 2011 at 7:54 am

  7. This looks like soooo much fun! Loving your blog. Now following!

    Prissy

    May 12, 2011 at 8:52 am

    • Crafternoon’s are the best! The perfect Summer afternoon activity!

      May 13, 2011 at 7:54 am

  8. Now. . .please post pics of you beauties wearing those creations! It’s the only way to see how they really turned out – and they look COOL!

    May 19, 2011 at 1:20 pm

  9. I loveee this idea. I totally want to have a dyeing crafternoon with all my friends! That looks like so much fun 🙂

    June 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

