DIY: Color Blocking Belt

The Glitter (Our Inspiration): If color blocking was an event in fashion’s spring trend Olympics, Gucci would take home the gold metal. In my opinion (which doesn’t mean much) the looks shown on the Gucci runway sparked this trend and has everyone including celebrities like Jennifer Lopez and Katy Perry blocking this trend. <– “blocking” … get it?

I’ve said many times that I’m a fan of this trend because it forces me to be bold with my color choices and wear other colors besides black.

Color blocking has inspired me to used my colored duct tape and create a color blocked belt. I love working with duct tape and so do many other DIYers out there. Check out Duct Tape Fashion.com. Some people can really get crafty and creative with their tape!

Materials: a belt, colored duck tape, scissors

The great thing about this project is that you can choose any color tape you wish and create what ever pattern you desire. But here’s a helpful tip, just be sure to make sure the tape lays  flat to your belt with no bubbles. This way you’ll have a smoother finish!

14 responses

  1. LOVE the colors- super for for summer. You are rocking it! Also, I love the glitter background of your site- I want it for my desktop 🙂

    March 15, 2011 at 9:58 am

    • Thank you!!!! xoxo

      March 17, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  2. this is awesome! I love it… great work!

    March 15, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  3. My fave trend! Great job

    March 16, 2011 at 5:57 pm

  4. Sennie Clark

    Nice way to take that outfit up to another level! LOVE!

    March 19, 2011 at 8:02 am

  5. And by the way you look HOT, go girly!

    March 19, 2011 at 8:03 am

  6. Hi Kristen!

    Nice belt. Is it possible that the link to duct tape fashion.com doesn’t work?

    March 21, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    • Yes! Thanks for catching that. Should be fixed now.

      March 21, 2011 at 11:40 pm

  7. Pingback: DIY Quickie: Monster Heels With Electric Soles A La Nicki Minaj |

  8. Pingback: Refashioned Belts | Irish Attic

  9. This is brilliant on sooo many levels! Thanks for sharing!

    May 3, 2013 at 10:36 am

Leave a Reply

