DIY: Glitter ‘N Glue Canvas Kicks

First of all I just wanted to give a special thank you to all those who read my blog, leave comments and chat with me on twitter. I love being crafty and love being a part of this community and having the ability to share with you all. Yes, I’ve changed the name of my blog… again. I’ve had at least 8 different hair colors and hair styles over the past year so for those of you who know me this isn’t a surprise. I promise I won’t change my blog name as many times as I change my hair color, but Glitter ‘N Glue was a little more fitting of my personality. Glitter N Glue is the new Be Vain Or DIY. New name, same fun craftiness.

Thanks for being so supportive and understanding. Now… Let’s craft…

The Glitter (Our Inspiration): Madonna’s daughter Lourdes Leon is one of my style favorites (even though she’s 14). She has a great expression of personal style. She’s been photographed several times in her Toms glitter flats and I’m personally love my Keds black glitter Champions, but when I came upon Tulip Products Glitter Bond (available at iLoveToCreate.com) I was inspired to craft my own glitter canvas flats.

Canvas flats available at Forever 21 for only $5.50.

I invited my friend and Vainglorious co-host, Kristen Reeves over for a cocktails and crafts session and we taped the process…

This is only the 2nd video that I’ve ever edited so please forgive that it’s not perfect. I’m still learning. But yes those are her flats that I photographed! They matched better with my outfit so I “borrowed” them from her. It’s a risk you take when you come over for cocktails and crafts!

16 responses

  1. Shelley

    my first email from your blog and well worth the jump. Great project. Also, psst…your editing is fine. love, love, love the new kicks!

    March 3, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    • Well thank you! I’m still learning. Glad you found the blog. Thanks for reading!

      March 3, 2011 at 6:17 pm

  2. No apologies, you’re editing was impressive! Cute shoes!

    March 3, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    • Thanks so much! I hope to post more soon.

      March 3, 2011 at 6:19 pm

  3. These are very cute! I was close to buying a pair of glittery pumps and I just DIYed a glitter vase..I’m currently obssesed with all things sparkly lol

    March 3, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    • I’m a huge fan of everything that sparkles too! Enjoy your new vase.

      March 3, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  4. Well how neat is that? Love the tutorial.

    March 3, 2011 at 5:40 pm

  5. These shoes are amazing!!!

    Happy Friday!

    xoxo,
    melrod

    March 4, 2011 at 8:47 am

  6. Chardae

    I love these glittered canvas kicks! I’m going to pick up a pair this weekend and try it out. They’ll be my fun summer shoes!

    March 13, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    • Send me a picture of your finished project and I’ll add the picture to the blog!

      March 17, 2011 at 7:25 pm

  7. Denise

    These are super cute, but this blog made me laugh as it reminded me of the time you dissed your grandmother’s gold sneakers she used to like to wear. Maybe she was just a little ahead of her time!
    I’ve been enjoying your blog and video show, Kristen–big hug!

    March 14, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    • Thank you! Isn’t it funny when Grandma is on trend?!? xoxo

      March 17, 2011 at 7:25 pm

  8. I LOVED this DIY tutorial..

    check out my blog to see some of my diy projects πŸ™‚

    ❀ inkednsewn

    May 1, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  9. Kristen I’m doing this today! I will tweet you the picture!

    May 8, 2011 at 10:03 am

    • YES! pls do. i can’t wait to see! twitter: @Glitter_N_Glue

      May 8, 2011 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

