DIY: Faux Fur Fantasy

I’m in love with faux fur! I have a faux fur blanket, a faux fur vest and even a faux fur pillow. What I love most about fur is that unlike leather, it’s fashionable and actually keeps me warm! My obsession with fur started at an early age. Most young girls dream of getting married in a beautiful wedding dress, right? Well, I told my Mom I wanted to get married in a full length white fur coat! This project is dedicated to every little girl like me that dreams of white fur a la Elizabeth, Kate and Joan (pictured above)!

Materials: faux fur, velcro, scissors

Cut the faux fur into a strip that is about 6 inches high by 24 inches long. Feel free to adjust the measurements depending on the size of your head and desired size of hat. Then, use the velcro pieces and apply rough pieces to the backside of the fur and apply the smooth velcro to the furry side at the opposite end. This way the velcro will overlap each other and lock securely when you place the fur around your head.

Then wear it! Turning on the heat in my apartment is such a process so the past few days I’ve been wearing my new white faux fur head wrap and it’s kept me so warm. I’m actually wearing it as I write this post. Picture it… me, in bed, in my pajamas, wearing my white fur! Enjoy!

5 responses

  1. You look so cute! Love it!

    January 12, 2011 at 7:39 am

  2. Soooooo freaking cute!!!

    xoxo
    melrod

    January 12, 2011 at 9:19 am

  3. TOO adorable!

    January 12, 2011 at 10:53 am

  4. I have some faux fur leftover from a DIY I did not too long ago…I’m definitely putting this on my to do list ! xo

    January 20, 2011 at 8:41 pm

  5. Pingback: Make a Simple Faux Fur Head Wrap | Copycat Crafts

Leave a Reply

