DIY: Chandelier Earrings

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all enjoyed the holiday season. Christmas is one of my favorite times of year. I spent the past month is Texas with my family (as you noticed I haven’t posted in nearly a month). Their house is always decorated so wonderfully and their kitchen always smells of delicious food during the holidays. It’s just a great time to relax and reflect at the end of the year.

I hate to see the holidays go and I always get a little sad while taking down the Christmas tree. I guess like they say, “All good things must come to an end.” However, while packing away the decorations my creative mind started working overtime. I mentioned to my Mom that some of her Christmas ornaments would make fantastic statement earrings (my favorite accessory staple of all time).

I stole the materials for this weeks DIY project right off my parents Christmas Tree.

But on a recent craft store outing to Hobby Lobby I noticed all of their Christmas decorations were on sale. Finding a cheap ornament at your local craft store shouldn’t be hard to do since they’re trying to get rid of their stock. Of course use discretion when you’re picking out an ornament. Get the one that looks like it could be an earring. I’d stay away from the big red ball because that’s obviously a Christmas ornament! They ones made to look like icicles usually work best.

The only other material you’ll need for this project are kidney earring findings. You can usually find them at your local craft store on the jewelry making isle. The great thing about the ornaments is that they usually already have a loop on the end of them so they can hang by hook or string on your tree. You can use the loop that’s already on the ornament and slide it directly onto the earring finding. No wires. No plyers.

WEAR ‘EM! I’m excited about these earrings because I get to take a little bit of the of the holidays with me through the rest of the year! I wore them to my Aunt and Uncles New Year dessert party and no know knew they were ornaments off my parent’s tree.

10 responses

  1. Wow! They turned out amazingly! Great job!

    January 3, 2011 at 7:58 am

  2. These are awesome!

    January 3, 2011 at 5:27 pm

  3. Before taking my tree down I, too thought of somehow incorporating ornaments to my wardrobe. Great DIY, and look forward to many more.

    P.S. Love the updates on your blog and I’m also going to dedicate more time on DIYS for my blog.

    Happy New Year!

    xoxo,
    MelRod

    January 4, 2011 at 9:43 am

  4. Thanks everyone! xo
    FashionJunkie – Can’t wait to see your DIY projects! xo

    January 4, 2011 at 10:42 am

  5. Oh wow. these are cute!

    January 5, 2011 at 11:02 am

  6. Those look fabulous on you! Love that you included your dad in the blog πŸ™‚

    January 6, 2011 at 10:51 am

  7. genius. count me in.

    January 10, 2011 at 7:41 pm

  8. Pingback: Barbie Collector 2010 Holiday Doll | barbie dolls

  9. What a simple, fun and creative idea, love them! Great site!

    February 6, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

